One of My Favorites

I’m about to share ONE of my very favorite Christmas songs with you. It’s not a normal one that you hear 5,000 times between Thanksgiving and Christmas {although, I have a few favorites among that crew}. Actually, several of you, or most of you, have probably never heard this song before in your life. And, once you hear it you’re going to think “I had no idea what I’ve been missing out on!!!!” Suddenly, the sky will be bluer, the grass greener, and {for a brief moment} all will be right in the world.

To big of a promise?

I think not.

You’re literally twitching with anticipation right now, aren’t you? Well, I won’t keep you in suspense any longer! Ladies and Gentlemen, may I present to you…. what might be one of the funniest, wackiest, most ridiculous songs that I’ve ever heard and that’s why I love it so much. I can guarantee you, that if we’re driving along in the car and this song comes on the radio, I stop what I’m doing, halt any conversation, turn up the radio and sing along like a kid. I can also guarantee you that if I’m driving in the car by myself and this song comes on the radio, I do all of the above and then I sing at the top of my lungs and clap/drum/direct the orchestra to the beat of the song. It’s fabulous. OK, so now, without further ado… I present to you…

I Want A Hippopotamus For Christmas

I want a hippopotamus for Christmas
Only a hippopotamus will do
Don’t want a doll, no dinky Tinker Toy
I want a hippopotamus to play with and enjoy

I want a hippopotamus for Christmas
I don’t think Santa Claus will mind, do you?
He won’t have to use our dirty chimney flue
Just bring him through the front door, that’s the easy thing to do

I can see me now on Christmas morning, creeping down the stairs
Oh what joy and what surprise when I open up my eyes
To see a hippo hero standing there
I want a hippopotamus for Christmas
Only a hippopotamus will do
No crocodiles, no rhinoceroses
I only like hippopotamuses
And hippopotamuses like me too

Mom says the hippo would eat me up, but then
Teacher says a hippo is a vegeterian

There’s lots of room for him in our two-car garage
I’d feed him there and wash him there and give him his massage
I can see me now on Christmas morning, creeping down the stairs
Oh what joy and what surprise when I open up my eyes
To see a hippo hero standing there

I want a hippopotamus for Christmas
Only a hippopotamus will do
No crocodiles or rhinoceroseses
I only like hippopotamuseses
And hippopotamuses like me too!

But, you can’t really catch the full glory of the song by just reading the lyrics. So, because I know you’re dying to know what it actually sounds like. Here you go…. you can thank me later.

You’re Welcome, America.

Happy Wednesday Ya’ll!!!

What’s your very favorite Christmas song?

5 responses to “One of My Favorites

  1. Yes!! That is our favorite Christmas song too. Eva will spontaneously bust out singing it.

  2. Glynis McLendon

    I can say that I have never heard that song before, but I Love It! Thanks for sharing, that brightened my day!

  3. hahhhahha LOVE THAT ONE. P right now loves the book that’s called “but not the hippopotamus”

  4. I just heard this song for the first time this week and couldn’t stop smiling! I love it but I haven’t heard it since. Thanks for providing a video 🙂 Now I have to make my son and husband love it too 😉

  5. I have heard that song. But it’s been awhile. Thanks for that Rebecca! Loved it! Catchy tune… 😉

Leave a Reply

