My list for Friday

– This morning I almost couldn’t move because of a BodyPump class that I did on Wednesday. As in, I could literally feel almost every single muscle in my body….and not one of them was telling me, “Oh, thank you Rebecca. You have no idea how much we loved going up on our weights on Wednesday. You’re just the to kind to us.”

– No, they were saying, “AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHH. Screw you Rebecca, and your darn weights.” Or at least that’s what it felt like.

– So, somehow, between me and my muscles, we made a compromise that we would go to BodyCombat today and get another “nice” workout. And, by that I mean, it hurt to wash my hair this afternoon. For real.

– While I was throwing punches in the air, I was writing a blog in my head of all the things that Joye says. It’s really too bad that I have no brain function after that class…because it’s really great stuff. She says stuff like, “SUCK IT UP!!!!! What’d you come here for? A pedicure???? FIGHT!” and “This isn’t a Jane Fonda class” and “You want your butt to be even right? Get in it!!!!! Looooooooooower!” But, my favorite is when she says, “What are you fighting for? What do you want? What’s stopping you?!?!?!?! FIGHT!” and “You might fall 99 times, but you’re going to get up again 100 times. GET IN THIS”. And then, there’s just the guttural, “FIIIIIIIIIIIiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiGHT!!!!!!!!!!!” that she yells when we’re supposed to give it every thing that we have inside of us. And you know what? We do.

– If it sounds intense, it’s 100 times more intense in the class. She also tells a room full of stay at home moms that we’re beautiful and that we’re worth the fight, and that it’s not about the pant size or what the scale says… it’s what’s inside us. Now, FIGHT!

– We {Zoe and I} left the gym and headed to the Town Center, where I stumbled through Target, barely able to move my legs.

– Do you know what I love to hear? My sweet hubby coming out of the kitchen and saying, “Hey, there’s a coupon here for $5 off a $20 purchase of women’s apparel at Target. Why don’t you go get yourself something?” So, before he could change his mind. I did.

– Do you know why I LOVE clearance racks? Because I found 3 shirts that would have totaled $56 and I got them for $13. Holla! And then I threw in a tank top that was on sale at $8.

– I found some new blogs this week, interesting ones. One is about this chic who lives in North Dakota on a farm with her hubby and 6 kids. They travel around the country in an RV pulled by a semi truck that runs on recycled vegetable oil. She takes the most beautiful pictures I’ve seen on a mommy-blog so far. Even better than the Pioneer Woman’s… She eats what she grows in her garden, is crazy organic, is a strong Christian. I think I read her blog, 4 little men and girly twins for the better part of 2 hours… if you have a minute {or two} you should totally check it out.

– When I put Zoe to sleep this afternoon, I put a couple books on her changing station just to see what she would do. That was an hour ago. She’s still up there reading to herself. I wonder if she’s going to be like her momma, and get sucked in to whatever book is around her, no matter the location.

– This past Saturday night was the Florida/Florida State game. Don’t mention that to Brad, I think he’s still depressed about the outcome. We went to his mom and Glen’s to watch the game. I was sitting with Glen in the living room, and immediately upon entering the room I noticed that he had the biography of Steve Jobs sitting on his TV tray. It took me less than five minutes to have that book open on my lap. 100 pages and a football game later, I was hooked. That book is 600 pages long, and now I feel the compelling need to finish it.

– That night, I went to sleep exhausted and dreamed that I was Steve Jobs’ sidekick, and we were building the Apple empire together. Which basically means that I worked a 16 hour shift in my sleep, or at least that’s what it felt like. I woke up feeling like I’d been hit by a truck.

– Fun fact about my hubby? He is a very minimal conversationalist, EXCEPT FOR when I’m reading a book. The minute I crack open a book he will find the most random question to ask me. He even left the room he was watching the game in, to come stand in the room I was reading in, and tried to talk to me. DURING FLORIDA/FLORIDA STATE!

– Fun fact about me? I was the 2nd of 5 children, and reading was my escape from the crazy that I lived in. I learned, very early, how to shut the world out as I sunk into the pages of a book. Any book. Fiction, non-fiction… it doesn’t matter. Once I start, I’m in it, and I have to finish it. Maybe not in that sitting, but I will finish the book. Even if I hate it. I mean, I was reading the biography of Steve Jobs and I’ve never owned and Apple anything in my life. Not to mention, the book is very much about computers and uses tons of computer lingo. Doesn’t matter. I’m in it. I’m engrossed. And now I have to finish that book.

Happy Friday Ya’ll!

What are you doing this weekend?

Me? Oh, I’ll be trying to figure out any way possible that I can get to a Barnes & Noble, find a comfy chair and read some more about Steve.

3 responses to “My list for Friday

  1. Your fun fact about Brad made me laugh. I totally to the same thing to Ben. I’ll be completely engrossed in what I’m doing and not even notice if he tries to talk to me. But as soon as he picks up a book, I start randomly saying things or asking questions. I swear it’s book magic. Not our fault.

  2. I think if I were in a workout class and someone yelled “You want your butt to be even, right?” I would fall over in hysterics. She makes a good point, but man, is that funny!

  3. LOVE it!! I will have to get my sisters to do the “Combat” Joye imitations for you some time, you will die. Great work, my friend!!

Leave a Reply

