This time last year

This time last year, I had a baby girl who was just turning 4 months old.

She looked a little bit like this…

IMG_3354

Today, I have a little girl who just turned 16 months old. Two months shy of a full year and a half. Which means, I almost have a 1 1/2 yr old!!! Sometimes, even still, that sounds so surreal.

IMG_6164
IMG_6937

This time last year, I hadn’t yet fully come to terms yet with my new identity of “mommy”. I loved my new role, it just wasn’t exactly natural. I felt like a fraction of the person I’d known all my life.

IMG_3980

Today, I’m much more comfortable in my “mommy-ness”. There’s still times when I’m struggling through identity shifts, but they’re few and far between.

IMG_1845

This time last year, I was knee-deep in a depression I never saw coming, and had no idea how to talk about. My life was a mass of boring. I abhorred the stillness of my house. I craved stimulation, excitement, and conversation.

IMG_3144
IMG_3900

Today, my days seldom lack some type of adventure. I’ve come to cherish, and even long for, the stillness of a quiet morning at home with my girl. I’ve found stimulation, excitement and conversation both at home with Zoe, and through a myriad of friends, work, church and the gym.

IMG_6349
IMG_6465
shower time

This time last year, my little girl was just perfecting rolling over, was about to try solid food {rice cereal} for the first time, wanted to be held 99% of the day, still nursed 6 times a day, and was just beginning to really interact with the world around her in a much more focused kind of way.

IMG_3921
IMG_4014

Today, she’s learning how to run, she chases cats and dogs around the house all day long, she’s in to everything, she would rather do 75% of her tasks on her own {still right beside me, but definitely on her own}, is learning new words everyday, has an opinion about everything {even which horse she’s going to “ride” the second time that my dad took her out to the pasture. Shucky, it appears, is her favorite.} She eats almost anything that she’s given, prefers to feed herself, and can work a room like a professional.

IMG_6860
IMG_6451

This time last year was a great time in our lives. We cherished every single day.

 

Today is an even better time in our lives. We’re cherishing every single day.

{This video was taken spontaneously yesterday to avoid a tantrum over Ritz crackers that she couldn’t feed to the dog. It’s not the best quality. It’s a little to bright. My left eyebrow looks like it’s cut in half. We move to fast for the webcam. But, it’s one of my favorite videos we’ve ever done.}

4 responses to “This time last year

  1. That video was delightful! (and by the way, I think you are an AWESOME mom!) 🙂

  2. That picture of Zoe in the Santa hat is so danged adorable!

  3. Great pics, great video of the cutest kid EVER! 😉

Leave a Reply

