Week of Thanksgiving: Day 3

Yesterday I felt like I barely had time to catch my breath, let alone, write a blog post. It was a crazy crazy day, full of busyness {Side note: Is that the right way to spell “busyness”? My computer doesn’t correct me, so I’m assuming that it is. But every time that I write it, I just think it looks so wrong. Weird, that’s another word that I think that about… and awkward. But then I just tell myself that “awkward is spelled awkwardly” and then I know it’s right. Total rabbit trail.} Back to yesterday, if you don’t follow me on Twitter or Facebook {which you totally should} then you didn’t see one of the highlights of my day. We came home from the gym so I could grab Zoe’s stuff for work and I was crazy nasty with sweat, so I figured that I would hop in the shower, do a quick wash-up. I briefly entertained the idea of taking her in the shower with me, but I didn’t want to have to get her dried off and dressed when she was already ready for the day. I decided that I would just let her play in the room while I took a 5 minute shower. She, on the other hand, had a much different idea. Turns out, she wanted that shower. I looked down about midway through to see my daughter climbing over the side of the tub, fully dressed, and just about died laughing.

Photo_941FB036-F31A-590F-C7D6-68DAD2478B7A

And that leads me to what I’m thankful for. Today I am thankful for the amazing gift of life that Brad and I have been blessed with. I’m telling you what, that girl is my world. I’ve never met anybody in the whole world like her.

family picture 3
family picture 15

They say that once you have a kid you can’t remember what life was like before them. I would say that’s not true. I can honestly say that I remember life without a child, the difference is that I would never want to go back there… even though “there” was a fantastic time. Having Zoe in my life just makes everything…. better.

IMG_4612
twitter pic
1 year difference

It’s in the simple things like reading on the couch with her hand on my arm. The times you only get with a toddler, like laughing hysterically over a new sound that she’s figured out how to make {This morning she learned to roar like a lion. We laughed about that for a solid 10 minutes. We even called Brad at work so that he could ask her “Zoe, what does a lion say?” And she could say, “Aaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh” in her lion voice}. It’s in the crazy times where she’s hyper and “running” around the house screaming and shrieking, laughing and giggling…and she just pulls you in to her good time. It’s the slow times, that very first walk from the car to the gym…. it took 15 minutes, but it was worth every second. It’s the quiet times, when Brad and I sneak into her room right before we go to bed at night, and we put our arms around each other and just stand there in the silence, loving our little girl, giggling at the weird positions she sleeps in, marveling at how BIG she’s getting. It’s the spontaneous times, when she’s playing across the room and she drops her toy to come over and give me a big wet kiss.

IMG_4159
IMG_6423

My life is just better because she’s in it.

mommy and Zoe
IMG_6182
Today I am thankful for the joy that Zoe has brought to my life, for the giggles, the tickles, the big wet sloppy kisses, the airplane noises as food makes its way into the mouth, the messes, the toys strewn across my living room, the light bulb moments when she learns something new, the countless times I’ve sat back and just been amazed at her spirit, her love and her genius-ness, the slower pace of life, the dance parties, my help in the kitchen, the hand that reaches up into my hair and twirls it, the shrieks, the silly faces, the animal noises, the wonderment of it all.

family picture 1
IMG_6408

Today I am thankful for LIFE – Zoe life

IMG_6383

One response to “Week of Thanksgiving: Day 3

  1. Okay, thank you for sharing. THis brings back wonderful memories for me. There is no greater gift than being a mother. Happy Thanksgiving to you and Brad. Please give Zoe a bug hug for me. Miss you all!

Leave a Reply

