Randomness on a Thursday

– Thank you guys so much for your encouragement on yesterday’s blog. I love that I get to do this journey with you. I love that you encourage me, and I encourage you. It’s amazing…and such a gift. I can’t wait to tell you about 30lbs! Soon…very soon!

– Last night I found myself dreaming about losing 80-90lbs in a year. Wouldn’t that be cool?

– I’d love to say 100lbs…because it sounds better. But, honestly? I have no desire to be that skinny. And 156lbs is skinny when you’re 5’11”. That crap is way to freaking hard to maintain.

– About a week before Halloween I was talking to my mentor and I told her that I was going to make Zoe’s Halloween costume. She said, “Oh, do you sew?” I laughed and said, “Nope!”. And she said, “Oh, you’re just one of those people who see something and can make it?” And I said, “Um, I’m going to use glue. But, I figure it can’t be that hard.”

– That conversation made me realize something about myself I never really knew before, even though I’ve been that way all my life.

– I’ll give anything a shot. Unless I absolutely know that I don’t have a talent for it, I’ll try it. It’s kinda a fun way to live…albeit sometimes a crazy way, and sometimes pretty messy, and most of the time it takes way longer than somebody who actually knows what they’re doing. But? It’s always an adventure!

– That conversation happened the same week that we did the pumpkin carving at our house. I was whipping up my peanut butter pie and somebody made a remark about me cooking. I said, “Yep! Just call me a regular housewife!”.

– My dad laughed and said, “Becky, you are anything BUT regular”.

– That’s the most accurate thing he’s said about me in my entire life.

– I smiled for a full day because of that comment.

– Last night I was flipping through my sister’s Pioneer Woman cookbook {Brad if you’re reading this…that is a MUST on my Christmas list}. She has a recipe in there for biscuits. I thought, “Does anybody even make their own biscuits? I thought you just bought them in a store.” And then proceeded through the book til I came across the pizza dough recipe and had the exact same thought.

– This morning I woke up with Zoe so that Brad could sleep in on his first day of our 4 day weekend. We were hanging in the living room and I noticed that it was getting to be 9, and I needed to feed Zoe something. I thought, “Man, wouldn’t it be nice to have some biscuits? But, we don’t have any. Well…..”

– The next thing I knew I was on AllRecipes.com looking up biscuit recipes.

– Brad woke up to me {in my apron} with mixing bowls and flour on the counter….making biscuits.

– I might be wrong, but I think there’s some type of contraption that you use to “cut” shortening in. If anybody knows…fill me in. Also, apparently there’s such a thing as a biscuit cutter….who knew?

– I used 2 knives to cut the shortening in and I used a measuring cup to press out the biscuits. Oh, and my hands to “roll” the dough.

– Some people call it “not prepared”. I call it “resourceful”.

– My debut attempt at biscuits was a smashing success.

– This morning I introduced Zoe to my favorite meal growing up. Biscuits with peanut butter and syrup on them with a side of scrambled eggs.

– She loved it.

– My big sis is getting married tomorrow.

– I have to go get a pedicure now.

Happy Thursday Ya’ll

8 responses to “Randomness on a Thursday

  1. The contraption that you use to cut shortening in is called a pastry cutter or pastry blender. I also use mine for scones and pie crust. If you don’t have one, a couple forks will do the trick.

    I have never used a biscuit cutter. It seems silly to buy one when a cup works just as well.

    I’m glad you discovered the delight of making homemade biscuits! Did you find them to be much better than store-bought? I can’t remember the last time I bought biscuits at the store, because homemade are so much better. 🙂

    • whoooohoooo! that’s awesome! thanks for the info! =) I did love them. I loved that I made them…..I definitely need to make them a little thicker next time, I didn’t realize that the recipe didn’t rise… And, to top it off, we weren’t able to eat them straight out of the oven because we had to wait for Brad to get back from the store. Long story short, yes, I loved them…but they have room for improvement.

  2. Here’s a picture of a pastry cutter in action if you’re curious.
    http://cn1.kaboodle.com/hi/img/c/0/0/110/a/AAAADARNAR0AAAAAARCgMg.png?v=1291522551000

    When I was a kid, I always called it a strawberry masher because we would use it to crush the strawberries for homemade jam. Good memories…

  3. Biscuits aren’t that hard, right? I love making them–they impress guests very easily. Also, this pizza crust is super easy and yummy! http://www.mybakingaddiction.com/no-knead-pizza-dough-recipe/
    Happy baking!

  4. Yeah what Bobbi said, thanks Bobbi for saving me the work of typing the response & finding a link. =) Have FUN at the wedding!

  5. Between Pioneer Woman and How Sweet It Is blog I’ve learned that not only can you make pizza dough and biscuits, but you can also make your own pie crust, cinnamon rolls, crescent rolls, ice cream, donuts, pretzels….and I think the list goes on. I just kinda always assumed you buy that stuff….

    • I knew about pie crusts because my sister always makes those for holidays…and I’ve actually made ice cream…I think I have friends who make cinnamon rolls. But crescent rolls. donuts and pretzels?!?!?! wouldn’t have dreamed of making those things myself

Leave a Reply

