Sometimes life just feels a little convoluted

Do you ever feel like you’re knee deep in the middle of life? Like everything around you is unfinished, pressing for your attention, and nothing gets done because everything has to get done?

That’s how I feel right now.

Jess’ wedding is only 3 weeks away. I’m throwing the lingerie/bachelorette party in 2 weeks. I haven’t sent out the invitations yet. I’ve thought about the invitations. I’ve thought about sending them out. But, I have yet to do that. I have a location. I have a few food ideas. I have a few game ideas. But, I have nothing nailed down. Right after I throw that shower we’re in wedding week, and you know how stressful that is.

corn maze 3

Last night I worked on a new header for this blog for over an hour. It was to no avail {obviously}. WordPress only lets you have a header that’s 990 x 180 and everything that I was doing…and it was going to be super cute…wasn’t working. Actually, I’ll show you the header that I was trying to use…you’ll like it. Or at least, I like it. Actually, I love it. But, I can’t use it. Which brings me to another point. Remember how a few months ago I told you that I was “under construction” on getting my own site? Yeah? Well…we’re still under construction. Actually, construction is at a standstill. I think I’m going to host it myself and try to figure out the coding…but, when?

header attempt

I’m sitting in the living room, Zoe’s costume is cut out on the table. I have no idea where to go from here. I think I might wait until I go to my dress fitting and see if I can borrow her sewing machine for 10 minutes. Or, I might get some inspiration tonight. I have 4 days left…and then it’s time to buy an actual costume. Or a pillow case, and then she’s going to wear a toga. Actually, if the Indian Princess doesn’t work…she’s definitely going in a toga.

corn maze 2

My fall wreath is almost done. I worked on it for another hour last night. Actually, I just worked on the flowers. Can I ask you something? Why in the world am I making a fall wreath? I blame Pinterest. I also blame blog reading. Either way, I’ve suddenly convinced myself that I’m crafty and that I should do crafts. I’ve also convinced myself that I can’t start something I don’t intend to finish. So, I’m teaching myself how to make a variety of felt flowers, and I’m screwing up a lot. I wanted to walk away and quit last night. I’ll try again tonight.

corn maze 4

And then, there’s my house, my very dirty, cluttered, house. It’s going to stay that way for at least a little bit, because I have to work today and then I’m going straight to my mentoring meeting. I was an awful housewife last night. I worked on my blog header and the pictures from the corn maze and Brad took care of Zoe, cooked dinner, and then cleaned up her mess. I actually started crying. I didn’t clean anything, but I started crying. That has to count for something, right?

pumpkin carving
Zoe's pumpkin
The Final Prodcut
But, those are just things. Things that can get done. Things that don’t have to get done. Things that may or may not ever get done. I don’t have anybody putting any pressure on me except myself, and my busy schedule. It makes it more complicated that I feel like I still can’t think straight. I can’t pick a starting place. I can’t multi-task like I’m used to doing. I can’t prioritize. It’s not a big deal, it’s just that I have to make a list….and then I have to work my to-do list around my increasingly active, incredibly smart, fearless daughter who is into everything, and testing every boundary that’s in place, and demanding instead of asking, and throwing temper tantrums you wouldn’t believe…you know…my toddler.

corn maze 5

Ah, but, such is life….

Happy Tuesday Ya’ll

ps. You’ll notice that the pictures are just from Saturday. That’s because I haven’t gotten that far into putting Sunday’s on my computer yet. Tomorrow…maybe I’ll have them for you tomorrow….

pps…While writing this blog, I got up to take care of Zoe, decided that now would be a good time to try and get Zoe’s costume together, ironed on the heat bond thing {which makes a great substitute…I just found that out}, accidently made the dress just a wee bit entirely too small, and now have to go buy some more fabric. See, this is what I’m talking about. I’m all over the place.

5 responses to “Sometimes life just feels a little convoluted

  1. Hi.

    Okay, so #1 Baby in a toga sounds awesome. If it wasn’t going to be about 40 degrees here on Halloween, I’d be all over that.

    #2 The photos of Zoe with the pumpkins are ADORABLE. Frame that, please.

    #3, and most importantly, you are doing the most important job in the world and you are doing it well. You’re right: it’s not about the things that may or may not get done, it’s about being there for your daughter and loving her like crazy, which, clearly, you do. Enjoy this blessed day and the blessings of your family! And if something gets crossed off a to-do list in the meantime, count it as a bonus.

    🙂

  2. Comer and I are having a “Trick or Toga” party…we are all wearing togas. I am so dadgum excited about it I may put the freaking dog in a toga. We shall see…anyway, toga for Zoe would be presh and easy – which is totally the route I am going. You are way cooler than me for even trying!! I have been in breakdown mode this week too…maybe something is in the water. What the heck. Like I cant get anything done, I suck at everything, am totally scatterbrained and just run from chaos to chaos. Too much going on – though all good stuff, I just cant keep up. Anyway, praying its just a season for me and that I will be back to normal mommy mode soon…praying that you have a great week too!! Love the pics and cant wait to see Sundays. Alright, sorry for the comment that turned into a novel!!!

  3. I LOVE the cat pumpkin but I also love cats so it’s kind of biased. That is a cute header and I know the feeling! Last night I actually figured out how to make a blog button (trust me it’s nothing fancy but it works) and then facebook wouldn’t let me upload it b/c it was “too small”

    I have the opposite problem when I make headers they are HUGE! I really need to fix my current header. What program did you use to make those? I used Picasa collages to make my current one.

    I love all the fall pictures. I LOVE fall. We went to the Corn Maize on Friday but at night 🙂 it was fun I LOVE the corn maize 🙂

  4. Zoe in a toga!!! Sounds like a fantastic idea to me!

  5. LOVE the pics! Especially Zoebear in the pumpkins! FYI…Zoe in ANYTHING will be adorabe. 😉

Leave a Reply

