Style, what’s it to you?

Style seems to be everywhere these days. At least to me. A few months ago I stumbled upon a few decorating blogs and I was hooked. The two that I go back to week after week are Miss Mustard Seed and Decor Chick, those two ladies see potential in everything. It’s pretty incredible. For the most part, I read and just soak things in, filing them away for a different house, a different time in my life…you know, sometime in the distant future when we actually have disposable income to use on decorating. Whenever that might be. But, lately, this budget thing has me thinking. What if I became deliberate about things? What if, instead of hating beige so much that I paint my walls Surfer and Pacific Blue, I thought about it for a second…or maybe two. What if I bought samples and really thought some stuff through?

Well, that would be a miracle.

A bonafide miracle.

So, I guess in a way, being broke is helping me determine my style…because I have no money to act on anything I only look…and the internet is a wonderful place to window shop. I’m realizing that I’m eclectic…go figure. That I like neutrals with lots of colorful accessories {EXACTLY the opposite of what I have now}. And I’m beginning to see the importance of rugs. Brace yourself, Kathryn, you’re about to see more neutrals than you ever thought possible.

{All of the following pictures are from Pinterest. Are you on Pinterest yet? No? Wanna be? Leave me a comment with your email and I’ll send you and invite}

I pretty much love everything about this picture. The amount of light. The color. The eclectic-ness.

 

If I could merge pieces of every one of these master bedrooms, I would. Except, I’d probably have to change the bedspread…we definitely shouldn’t do white in this house. Not with 4 animals who think they have divine rights to our bed.

style 1

Have I ever told you how much I love armchairs? I really do. I can’t get over how expensive they are, which is why I only have 1 in my house…and that one was given to me. But, I’m working my way to accepting their cost and you mark my words…there will be armchairs in my house one day.

style 2

These are all rugs. I’ve never, in my entire life, bought a rug. Nate Berkus, along with every other decorator that I’ve ever watched on TV, says that every single room in your house should have a rug. I also never thought I was much on the geometric shapes…I actually love them. I do not like floral rugs…that I can say with certainty.

style 5

For some reason, in my mind, dining rooms belong to 30-something couples and grandmothers. I have yet to realize that I’m married and have a child…therefore I should probably have a house that has an actual dining room in it…you know, be a grown up. Same as with rugs, I’ve never had a house that had a dining room, nor have I ever bought anything for a dining room. In fact, the first plate set…actual set…I ever owned was the one I registered for when I got married…when I was 27. But, I love these dining rooms. And, if I lived on the West Coast, I would love an outdoor dining area like the middle picture.

style 4

Am I boring you yet? Because I have more… ACCESSORIES! My FAVORITE! Have you noticed the distinct colors that I like? If not…let me show them to you…

style 11

Yep. I love all of those colors. In fact, in every picture that I’m showing you today, I can absolutely picture myself curled up in a chair in each of these rooms reading a really great book. Or playing on the floor with my girl. Or making out with husband on the couch. Or waking up early and drinking a cup of coffee in the quiet….wait a second. I don’t wake up early…nor do I drink coffee. So, let’s say sleeping in on a Saturday morning and lazily strolling into the living room where Brad has cooked breakfast and there’s a nice Diet Coke waiting for me….yes, I can picture that. Maybe I’ll grab my book off a bookshelf that looks like this…

style 12

And I’ll snuggle up with a pillow that looks like this…

style 6

One day, in the not too distant future, my life will be filled with priceless works of art…also known as kid art. I can’t wait for those days. Zoe just “colored” her first drawing the other day. I’m buying a frame this week. It won’t be long before one wall in my house looks like this…

style 8

One of my decorating quirks is that I love window panes. I always have. The only problem is that I’ve never really figured out how to use them in decorating. Look at the top right picture here, that’s window panes, mason jars and lightbulbs…who thinks of that crap? How amazing is it!?!?! Don’t you just want that in your back yard? I do.

style 10

But, in case you’re not into window panes…might I interest you in an office? Ok, let’s get real. I will probably never have an office, unless I eventually write a book, and then that would require me to have an office. But, should I ever have an office, I can guarantee you that it will never be so neat, unless of course Brad somehow conjures up the nerve to come in and clean it.

style 7

And then, of course, there’s the heavy furniture. I have had a distant love affair with the items in the next picture for years, years, but…you guessed it. I have never owned anything that looks remotely like any of the items in this picture. Why? Because they cost like a couple hundred dollars…and I’m cheap…and also broke. But seriously. I love them. I love turquoise/greenish/sometypeofblue furniture.

style 3

And one day, when I have that turquoise/greenish/sometypeofblue furniture I will put some type of ceramic owl on it. Because I love birds in decorations and I have a secret fascination with decorating with owls. See…I bet you didn’t know all of this about me. Heck, I don’t even think Brad knew all of this about me. Come to think of it, I’m just beginning to realize all of this about myself!

style 13

So, anyways, that’s what I’m into these days….daydreaming about decorating. Don’t tell Brad, but Sunday in church I’d almost convinced myself to buy paint for the living room…I’m thinking a nice shade of beige so that I can add some splash!

What about you? If money were no object how would you decorate?

7 responses to “Style, what’s it to you?

  1. Gorgeous photos! I love all of the turquoise. I have blue-green on my walls (Benjamin Moore’s “White Rain”), but I’ve been daydreaming about having a house someday with all white walls and lots of color in the furniture and accessories. I’ll look for you on pinterest!

  2. You should definately check out younghouselobe.com. they love ceramic animals and have killer ideas for little to no money. Im obsessed with them!!!!

  3. Hey Love the Pics πŸ™‚ Send me an invite I’d Love to check out Pinterest
    Hurleybird03@yahoo.com πŸ™‚

  4. Welcome to the wonderful world of neutrals…and how well they partner with your color pops! So excited for you! You have such fun color inspirations (I watch way too much David Bromstad)! I can’t wait til you guys get your first house and I can see your inner decorator come to life πŸ˜€

  5. Also, send me an invite for Pinterest, I’d like to check it out πŸ™‚

  6. Please send me an invite to Pinterest. Adriennetedkazarian@yahoo.com. LOVED all the pics and all the decorating! πŸ˜‰

  7. Oh yeah, I really like the idea of a picture wall for Zoebears art. So cool…

Leave a Reply

