The Big Event

I think my game must not be up to par, because what I should be writing about is other things from the trip, like being a single parent for 9 days, or the trip from Zoe’s perspective…and instead I’m writing about the other biggest factor from the trip. Erynn’s wedding. Which, should probably wait until towards the end, but I’m impatient, and the wedding is all that I can think about, so here we go!

{The location. Stunning}
IMG_0173
IMG_0184
IMG_0186

The day started out normal enough, we’d stayed up too late talking into the night, another bridesmaid and I left early to go to the site and get a few more things done, Erynn arrived a little bit late for hair and makeup, and by 11am all of the ladies were together at the Bennett’s farmhouse preparing for the ceremony. Up to this point the wedding preparations had experienced a few mishaps that were mildly hard to swallow…which I’ll talk about in a different post, but suffice it to say that we were in the middle of trying to fix our dresses when I was called into the room. Erynn looked me dead in the eyes and told me to tell her the honest truth, did her hair look good? The very first thought that went through my head was that she looked like Maid Miriam from Robin Hood, but I absolutely was not going to tell her that. Instead, I asked if she liked it. She said something was a little off. The hairdresser said that she looked beautiful. Erynn fidgeted. Faye knew something was up. I just started mumbling ideas to fix it. Erynn left the room and when she came back in she was almost in tears. She hated her hair and she was on the verge of a full scale bridal meltdown. She asked, very nicely, if the hairdresser could fix her hair and told her what she wanted. The hairdresser said no. She reminded the hairdresser that she was paying her. The hairdresser still said no. Erynn started crying. The hairdresser told her that she was going to mess up her makeup. Back and forth they went. Erynn said she hated her hair, the hairdresser said she loved it. If you know anything about me, you know that I wanted to punch the hairdresser in the face. What in the world!?!?!?! But, I sat there speechless, in shock over the conversation. Faye jumped into action, dismissed the hairdresser who refused to leave, and started completely redoing Erynn’s hair. I kicked everybody out of the room and told the photographer that we probably weren’t going to make it for pre-wedding pictures, and then I sat directly in front of Erynn and tried to think of funny stories to distract her.

{You can’t get a really good grasp on what was wrong from this picture, but it was how her hair was pulled back, it was really poufy in a not good way, and that she never wanted her hair up in the first place}
IMG_9981
{After Faye’s handiwork}
IMG_9990

After about an hour of finagling, Faye had Erynn looking pretty spiffy, Erynn was beginning to calm down, and I went to check on Zoe who was taking a nap upstairs…or rather, was supposed to be taking a nap upstairs. What I found instead was Mrs. Bennett laying on the bed with a wide awake Zoe. Awesome. So, instead of having a well rested Zoe for the ceremony, I now had a very tired, very cranky, quasi-meltdown Zoe for the next few hours. It was getting close to ceremony time, so I kinda just handed her off to my friend Carly with a ton of thank-you’s and focused on Erynn. What happened next was utter confusion. I was told I had to convince the limo driver to drive on the grass, I thought the limo driver knew he was driving on the grass, I was given money to give to him if he needed extra convincing, he didn’t and we all climbed in. We were supposed to be given our cues from Mr. Bishop, Erynn’s dad, but Mr. Bennett had a different plan entirely, and kept overriding us with the limo driver. That poor limo driver was so confused he didn’t know which was way north by the time we were done with him. Mr. Bennett demanded that we go now, Mr. Bishop said that we needed to wait, in the end Mr. Bennett won, because that’s just how things go.

{The father and the bride…one of the most touching parts in any ceremony}
IMG_0056

The beginning of the ceremony was rather normal, then the dads got up to speak…or rather, Mr. Bennett got up to speak…and continued to speak for the next 20 minutes. Mr. Bishop got up next, but mercifully, only spoke for about 5. Then the exchange of the rings. Except, one was missing. The pastor covered it flawlessly, addressed the situation then moved on, changing the part in the vows that said “with this ring”. Josiah finally clued in to what was happening and stopped the vows. He asked Pastor Adam if this was a joke. Pastor Adam said it wasn’t. He looked around and asked if this was a joke again. Pastor Adam said that it wasn’t. This went on for a few minutes…minutes people. Can you even imagine? Thank God somebody found the ring because Josiah was going to stop the whole wedding until it was found. I’m not even kidding.

{You can see how lost in each other they are…they were definitely instructed to look at the camera. Almost every picture that they have is going to look something like this…which is beautiful}
IMG_0114

At that point we were about 40 minutes into the ceremony and we still had communion, the lighting of the unity candles, and the first kiss left to get to. It was about the time that Pastor Adam was beginning to announce that they were man and wife that Josiah hijacked the microphone. He wanted to know what the ladies had done that morning. We were shocked, and speechless. Then he proceeded to talk about how the boys had gone target practicing. What the…? And then he pulled out his target to present it to Erynn…at which point I asked if if he wanted to kiss her. What was the target of? Holes in the shape of a heart? Maybe the word “LOVE” spelled out. No. Nope…it was just a target…with a shooter who had very bad aim. That’s it. I doubled over laughing and I didn’t stop until after the ceremony was over.

{Showing Erynn his target}
IMG_0075

I had to stop laughing then, because there were 400 guests who wanted to greet the happy couple and we had pictures to take. It became my job to fend off the crowd. I hate that. I absolutely hate doing that…I’m good at it, but I hate it. Nonetheless, that’s what I did. I was also given the job of rounding up the Bennett’s…that, my friends, is no easy task. After about 20 minutes I found Faye and told her that I couldn’t handle the Bennett’s anymore and I quit. She’s far more graceful than I am anyways…she could do it. Pictures were another whole ordeal, and I was still reeling from what had just happened during the ceremony. By the time we got to the food it was 6pm. The wedding was at 3….are you getting the feel of this day yet? Because we were at the head table we were going to eat first. Hallelujah. And then we were told to sit down…somebody still had to pray over the food…of course. I returned to my seat only to find out that the man who was praying was also giving a sermon. Short, only 8 minutes. Are you freaking kidding me? I about died. Poor Faye, she had to listen to my sighs through the whole thing.

{The precious flower girl sprinkled the flowers on the way out of the ceremony…not in. Priceless.}
IMG_0091

The reception was just as crazy as the wedding. At one point the guests just helped themselves to the cake table, although I think it was the groom’s cake and not the real thing…but still, there was a mass exodus out of the tent and shouts for Erynn to cut the cake…although she and Josiah were too busy kissing to pay much attention to anything. According to the photographer, she had never seen a couple so lost in each other…and I would have to agree. Erynn said she’d never been so happy in her life. Close to the end of the reception Mr. and Mrs. Bennett had one more trick up their sleeve. Again, they took control over the microphone and we heard another sermon of sorts…this time about love languages. I didn’t mind this one though because at the end of it Erynn was presented with a pig. A pot-bellied pig. She’s talked about wanting a pet pig for as long as I’ve known here, and if getting married wasn’t enough…this just topped off the day.

{K, this picture is really blurry, but you see the joy on Erynn’s face}
IMG_0276
{The getaway car}
IMG_0296

By about 9 I was completely wiped out, and said my goodbyes, still in awe of the day. Erynn’s wedding was one of the most beautiful, crazy, tender, absolutely ridiculous and frustrating weddings I’ve ever been to. It was one for the books…that’s for sure.

7 responses to “The Big Event

  1. 1) Now I understand why your previous post mentioned the Bennett’s moving a piano into the field lol. Beautiful venue!!
    2) Wow, that hairdresser…I can’t get over that. Btw, the end result looked awesome! Gorgeous hair! πŸ™‚
    3) I really can’t imagine planning a wedding for 400 guests…impressive to say the least!
    4) SOOO glad you’re back! Can’t wait for more stories πŸ˜€

    • I’m sure that you can imagine what i wanted to say to the hairdresser when I could pick my jaw up off the floor!

  2. hey rebecca, thanks for telling the story… I’m in my kitchen (really !!) in France and laughing at your words… loved getting to know you and zoe ! caroline

  3. Totally enjoyed this Mrs. Harvin! Loved the pics and what a beautiful bride Erynn was! Wow! You have an “out of the country” blog fan! How cool is that? πŸ˜‰

    • hahahaha! It’s really cool. That’s Caroline…she was the pastor that Erynn worked under while she was in France. She’s really cool.

  4. The bride is BEAUTIFUL! The location is unbelievable and I love how magnificent and formal the tent looks even though it’s int he field.

Leave a Reply

