Meet the Bennett’s

HEY YA’LL! I’m baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaack! I arrived home safe and sound yesterday at about 9, greeted at the airport by Brad with flowers in hand. It was the sight I’ve been waiting to see since last Friday at 9 in the morning. Not the flowers…Brad. If this week taught me one thing it was that I can not LIVE without that man! He is my world. Anyways, today isn’t about him, or missing him, or waking up at night missing him so much I was in tears. No, today is about my trip. Like I said on Friday, there are SO MANY things I want to talk about this week…but, out of all my topics the Bennett’s stand out heads above the rest.

{The entrance to they’re honeybee house}
IMG_9965
{Just a shed the kids built…no big deal}
IMG_9949

I met them the second day that I got there. I’ve seen pictures on Facebook, but nothing could’ve prepared me for actually meeting them. The Bennett’s are the family that Erynn is marrying into, and they are one of a kind. My very first impression was that they were maybe Amish, and if not Amish…then certainly a distant cousin. They have 9 children. Nine. N-I-N-E. They live on a farm, like a real “milk your own cow and then that’s the milk you drink” farm. One of the girls, Celeste, is in charge of all the lambs. They have over a hundred. Beau is in charge of milking the cows and he helps with hay. Josiah is in charge of hay. Hosanna is in charge of the honeybees….they have hundreds of hives, each one holding thousands of bees. Mr. and Mrs. Bennett homeschool all of the kids, not because they need help on the farm, but because they are very opposed to public schools. At one point in the week I told their second to youngest son, Corbet, that he was a stud. He didn’t know what I meant.

{This is Mr. and Mrs. Bennett}
IMG_9359
{They’re moving a piano into the hayfield here. Corbet, is in the yellow shirt with his back to the camera. Stud.}
IMG_9922

They are not, in fact, Amish. They are just the Bennett’s, and after a week with them, that statement holds so much hidden meaning to me. It all started innocently enough. We got there at 9:30, just in time for dinner. They asked me if I wanted any. I said no thanks, we’d already eaten. Then they asked again. I asked what it was. They said, “Chicken feet stew”. I laughed hysterically and said, “Of course! Why wouldn’t I want chicken feet stew?” Josiah told me that it was delicious and that’s what he requests for his birthday dinner. I told him he should aim higher. As I took pictures of the stew, I also took pictures of the milk straight from the cow. They laughed at me. I told them I had to document drinking milk straight from the cow. Beau told me that I was completely wrong, that wasn’t milk straight from a cow. It had been strained. I quickly informed him that to the rest of America, it counts. And from then on I had the entire family laughing at my jokes….which only encourages my honesty.

(That, my friends, is the foot of a chicken in my bowl…YUMMY}
WP_000277
{Milk…and homemade cheese…straight from the cow}
WP_000276

As we were slurping up our delicious {please note the deliberate use of sarcasm} chicken feet stew, one of the boys asked me how Brad and I met. I told them a very quick version of our story, but accidentally included the fact that Brad and I eloped. I looked up to see every single jaw at the table had dropped. Eloped? Without my parents consent? The madness! The insanity! Who would do such a thing?!?!?!?! You see, the Bennett’s believe in courtship…the old fashioned way. Except, I think maybe a little more. Josiah and Erynn never touched until their wedding day. As in, never ever touched, not even a hand on the shoulder or an accidental brush as they walk past each other. And they certainly never did anything without his parent’s consent. So, you can imagine their surprise when I eloped and told my parents about it 2 weeks later. Surprise!

{Honeybee hives}
IMG_9954
IMG_9956

This revelation started a conversation about dating, and it’s worthlessness in our society. Again, honest Rebecca, admitted that I’d had a series of “guys but not boyfriends”, at which point Mr. Bennett asked where my father was, because it was his job to protect me from guys like that. I don’t know about you, but you can talk about me, critique me and my life all day long, but you do NOT talk about my dad…or my family for that matter. I very politely {in my opinion} addressed his concerns and then changed the subject. I told them that I was for sure going to write a blog about them. It became the joke of the week, every new experience I had over there they would ask if I was going to blog about it. Yes. I most definitely am. Mrs. Bennett asked me my blog title and the conversation went like this:

Mrs. B: Oh, I don’t like that term, “Housewife”. I much prefer “homemaker”
Me: Well, that would be a complete lie.
Mrs. B: Oh, I don’t think so. Surely you do things around your house.
Me: I wouldn’t be to sure about that.
Mrs. B: I’m sure you do the dishes and have dinner waiting for him when he gets home.
Me: {laughter} Um, no. He does that. I mean, I do the dishes sometimes…but he does them mostly, and he cooks.
Mrs. B: Well, you do the laundry.
Me: No.
Mrs. B: Well, what do you do all day long?
Me: I try to be out of the house as much as I can. I take care of Zoe. I play with her. We go to the gym. I run errands.
Mrs. B: Oh, well, I’m sure you pick out the bed sheets and have everything nice for him.
Me: Uhhhhhh…..no. Definitely not.
Mrs. B: Well, what do you do that makes him want to come home to you?
Me: I kiss him.

I would like you to know that because there were very innocent children in the room I censored myself DRASTICALLY there. I was so very tempted to elaborate on what I do for my husband to make him come home to me. But, alas, I did not. What I did do though, was laugh…a lot. I couldn’t believe that she had asked me that. We talked and laughed some more, and then decided that 11:30 was pretty late and we should probably go home. I left afraid that I had tarnished the poor Bennett children. When we got in the car I told Erynn that I thought I totally freaked them out. The next day Mrs. Bennett told Erynn that she sees where she gets her crazy from.

{Hosanna, I hung out with her a lot}
IMG_9336
{Celeste with “curlers” in her hair}
IMG_9948

I honestly enjoyed the Bennett’s immensely. We’re different. Very very very different. But, being around a large family has a certain comfort to it that I can’t explain. There’s something about how the kids interact and love each other. How they are perfectly at ease and comfortable with each other. Around the Bennett’s the laughter flows freely. They are wonderful, wonderful people. Their life is simple, it’s wonderful, and it has it’s ups and downs just like anybody else. However, one of the biggest stresses of my week was how they operate. Everybody has an opinion, they like to override your opinion, and they operate on a time clock all their own…as in incredibly late…to EVERYTHING. It all evens out in the end. Erynn absolutely loves that she’s marrying into that family…and I have to be honest and say that she’s marrying into one heck of a family. But, I’m also glad that she’s marrying into them….and not me.

{Erynn and Josiah}
IMG_9341

4 responses to “Meet the Bennett’s

  1. Awwww….they are such a cute couple! Sounds like you & Zoebear had a very different, fun & exciting week. Can’t wait to read more blogs… 😉

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this wedding wedding with me, I laughed though out. Mandi shared it with me. It was so nice to met you, I’m glad you where in Michigan to join us! I will look forward to your next entry’s. Zoe is such a sweet little girl, thank- you for bringing her!

  3. WOW that whole place looks incredible!

Leave a Reply

