Thursday Brain Dump

* The other day I was looking into Zoe’s mouth because I think she’s cutting another tooth {at least, I hope that’s the reason that she cried/whined for a few hours last night} and I found what I think was a little bit of plaque. I know I’m supposed to wipe her teeth with a washcloth, but let’s be honest, that’s never happened. I made the call that she was ready to start brushing her teeth and so off we went to Target. She picked the Elmo toothbrush, go figure.

IMG_9157

* Yesterday I was in Joann Fabrics trying to find some material to make headbands to match all Zoe’s new {awesome} clothes from her birthday party and I had to change her diaper. I went to the bathroom where the changing table used to be. That’s right, used to be. They took it out. Apparently, in a store that caters to women, homemaking, and has a whole section on kids crafts…they don’t think mothers are going to bring their babies in. And, they also don’t think that those babies, should they be brought in, will need a place to have their diaper changed should they have an explosion in their pants. This irritates the bejeezus out of me. Especially because it’s not just Joann’s. Starbucks is awful about changing tables. And, I’ve even been in a gas station…a brand new gas station…that didn’t have a changing table in the women’s restroom. Are you kidding me???? {Ok. Done with that rant}

IMG_9160

* Sometimes, when your baby is cutting a new tooth and is whining incessantly for no reason at all, you put a cute hat on their heads and hand them an empty paper towel roll and watch them bang on the table with it. You realize that laughter and smiles can make incessant whining much more bearable….and the photos are pretty darn cute too.

IMG_9175

* Yesterday Zoe and I ran a few errands and met up with Jess for some wedding stuff. She’s up to her ears in wedding stuff. Somebody should tell people to enjoy that last week right before they get engaged, because there won’t be another time that peaceful in a long time. Why do weddings take such intense preparation? It doesn’t seem to matter if you have a year to plan or 2 months…they’re stressful.

Camera uploads 344

* One day that little girl is going to be a big girl and she’s going to be wearing a veil for real. My heart’s not ready for that. I think that’s why you have so many years between this stage and that day…so that your heart can get ready. I think it takes that long. In the meantime, I’ve been reading some parenting books. I’m mostly interested in the toddler stage right now. Can I just tell you…some of those books are absolute crap! Like, for real, crap. My favorite one so far is Girlfriend’s Guide to Toddlers which figures because Girlfriend’s Guide to Pregnancy was my favorite pregnancy book too.

IMG_9134

* Zoe got a ton of really cool toys at her party, which I immediately put up for later use. I’m such a mean mom. My plan is to take one toy out every month and then she always has something new. One of those toys that I put up was a really cool princess race car, I figured that she wasn’t ready for it, and they have one at church, so I want her to fall in love with it there and then be totally stoked when I pull hers out here. And then I caught her trying to ride her xylophone. Needless to say, I went immediately upstairs and got the car. She loves it.

IMG_9108

* We’re working on saying “please” in sign language. It’s a pretty simple gesture, you just rub your chest in a circular motion. Zoe hates it. She refuses to do it. She’ll do it on my chest, she’ll do it on the couch, she’ll even rub the shopping cart…but she will not rub her chest. The other day I asked her to “say please” and she actually shook her head “no” at me. I couldn’t believe it! But, what she does say now is: {in real words} momma, dadda, dog, bye bye, and some form of kitty cat, {in sign language} she can say bye bye, all done, more, blow kisses, and she can tell you that she’s one. She’s a bonafide genius šŸ˜‰

IMG_9183

And now, I have to end it here because I’m going to be late for work!

Happy Thursday Ya’ll!

3 responses to “Thursday Brain Dump

  1. She is such a cutie pie! I’m so impressed with the “save for later” idea, although I have no idea how I can do that since I’m an adult and I must have everything NOW NOW NOW šŸ™‚

  2. I feel you on the changing table thing. New York is not always kid-friendly. Sometimes, but not always. I may or may not have changed Jacob on the floor of a bathroom stall at the library in midtown. Maybe it’s not just the city, though. I know I didn’t think about these things before I had a baby!

  3. LOVE the pic of her on the car! Cute kid & cute car! Hahaha! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

