Mom Fail 101

Yesterday I ran late all day long. Do you know how incredibly frustrating that is to me? It drives me crazy. The truth is, I have had almost no motivation for anything this week, and couldn’t get my bum off the couch. So, no gym, no time for errands, no time for lunch, and even then…we were still running late. I had to feed my daughter something, so we pulled into Target so I could get her a snack and at the same time lunch. We grabbed a salad and some apple slices. I managed to get a piece of chicken and an apple slice in her before we had to leave. We got to work, Zoe took the only bottle I had with me, went down for a nap, and I started to do my project for the day: data entry…which was going downhill, fast. Zoe woke up an hour early and came to sit with me in the little office I work in…and immediately started crying, which soon escalated to a scream. The only way that I could get her to stop is to put her on my lap, bounce my legs, and sing a nursery rhyme while I crane my neck to see around her and keep plucking away at the data…which, by the way, is getting horribly screwed up.

That went on, exactly like that, for 2 1/2 hours. At one point Zoe accidentally caught my jaw with a calculator, and I’m pretty sure that I refrained from yelling at her. I hope I refrained from yelling at her. There were definitely some pretty tense moments between us. I knew she was hungry, there was nothing I could do. I knew she was tired, there was nothing I could do. I knew she wanted to be out of the room, there was nothing I could do. I was finally able to straighten out the paperwork by 5:30…which was 1 hour after I was supposed to be at the gym, and the exact time that I was supposed to be home {40 minutes away} to pass Zoe off to Brad so I could go to a meeting. My nerves were shot to hell. I got in the car and cried…which, you guessed it, so did Zoe. Remember…by now, it’s dinnertime…she’s had an apple slice and a bottle since breakfast.

The worst part of the whole experience was that I knew that it was my fault. I wasn’t prepared. The snack I bought didn’t work. I had no more bottles. She wouldn’t take the toys I brought, her sippy cup or her pacifier. In fact, she threw them away when I tried to give them to her.

It gets even better. Today I made the same mistake. We were in Publix and when there’s samples I always get some for her. It was lunchtime, and the sample was fruit salad and chicken fried rice…yum! The only problem? I was holding Zoe in one hand, and a Diet Coke, a different bag of dried fruit, my wallet and keys in the other…oh, and balancing the sample on top of that. {Sidenote: When we got to the register I got there at the same exact time as another lady did. She was by herself, all her goods in a basket, and she totally cut me off to get in front of me…are you freaking kidding me????}. Anyways, Zoe saw the food, but couldn’t get to it…and…cue the screaming, and then the dull crying. I totally get it. It was 12, she hadn’t had anything since her yogurt this morning at 8 for breakfast. But, my nerves don’t understand logic. And, my nerves are still shot to hell…and we still had to get where we were going before she could eat anything.

What am I trying to say? I have no idea. But, probably that the last two days have been filled with “mom fails” in the food department, my nerves are shot, and I’m just over it. I’m totally over it. I’ve got to get my head in the game. Sorry if this sounds like a pity party…it’s not intended to be. It’s just reality. I’m not good in the food department. Now that Zoe is entirely on table foods, she eats what I eat, and that’s not working. I was a college-ish student for 8 years…I developed those eating habits…and they dug down into my psyche. For instance, yesterday I had oatmeal in the morning, that salad at 12:30, a handful of carrots at 6:30, and then popcorn at 10 because that’s when I realized I hadn’t eaten dinner and needed to put something in my stomach. Can you imagine a one year old eating like that? No wonder she screamed her bloody head off yesterday.

So, this weekend Brad and I are going to have a pow wow, because he’s good at this planning stuff…and I’m just, not. I’m going to get my head in the game. Once again, for the millionth time this year, and a pebble in the sea of motherhood, I’m going to teach myself to be something that I’m not because my daughter needs me to be. Wish me luck.

Happy Friday ya’ll…

7 responses to “Mom Fail 101

  1. don’t fell badly… kids are picky eaters. One meal they LOVE the yogurt you give them, the next they throw it on the ground and scream. I can’t even begin to tell you the number of times I planned a snack that I was sure was a winner and was a total flop. Or even the number of times I left the house with kiddos and managed to remember a diaper but that was it, no drink, no snack, nothing!!!!!! Let me just tell you how well those outings went. It’s even worse if your child is an especially picky eater (Zeke). He will barely eat anything and it drives me CRAZY! At any rate, you did NOT fail. You are a great mom!

  2. Oh, I totally left the Cheerios at home during a too-long trip to Target this week, too. I feel for you! But it’s not the end of the world; it teaches our kids resilience, right? Or something?

  3. I’m a panned and ocd about schedule too! This would drive me nuts 😦

  4. Give yourself a break. It’s tough trying to remember everything for yourself PLUS for another human being. That’s why I started carrying around a binder just to keep organized on everything from bills to pay to Zoey’s menu–because otherwise, she’d be eating toast every day. I struggle with trying to remember enough snacks and meal stuff before we leave the house–and sometimes I don’t plan enough or Zoey doesn’t want what I pack. It’s just one of those things.

    I think i’ve gotten kind of better at planning for enough Zoey food since I have to plan her lunch and breakfast every day before I take her to my mom’s while i go to work. And I always try to include a couple different snacks so she has variety. But I still don’t always get it right and there’s been at least once that I’ve totally forgotten her lunch on the kitchen counter and she’s had to have leftovers at Mom’s house.

    This past Saturday, I was at a garage sale at my parent’s house all day and since it was in their barn, Zoey couldn’t get down on the floor to play. She either had to be in her walker or on my lap. ALL DAY. Needless to say, she hated it and it was clear that she was relieved when we got home. Did I feel guilty? Yeah. Did I feel like it was a mom fail? Totally. But sometimes things happen and you just have to roll with the punches. The thing to remember is kids, even if them complain a lot, are always better at going with the flow than we are.

    Zoe wasn’t harmed in any way and you know what? She’s probably already forgotten about the whole thing. A couple hours crappy time in a kids life is so much longer in the mom’s life when the mom feels guilty about something.

    Planning helps, but you’re human. so don’t let it bother you.

    So, what’s this data entry thing you’re doing? Did you get a job?

  5. Being a mommy is tough and sometimes we don’t give ourselves enough credit. From what I read (this is my first time on your blog), you are doing a great job! Remember that Zoe is too little to truly remember these times, only you will, so don’t beat yourself up over them. Good for you working with your husband to plan things. Maybe take a look at making a household binder for yourself! Blue-Eyed Bride made one and I used hers as a template for mine. Good luck to you!

  6. I always keep food in my car for times when my kids are hungry or for when I forget to feed them or for when they can’t pull themselves away from what ever they are doing to actually eat before we leave. (And I am talking about 7 and 10 year olds.) But for my little ones, I keep a bag with juice boxes, sippy cups, crackers, freeze dried yogurt, cereal, dried fruit and nuts, things like that in my car all the time. Then I will be prepared when I forget to pack things in my purse, because I do forget. All the time! And sometimes I share with my older kids, and sometimes I snack on it too, when I forget to feed myself. I’m sure Zoe was not scarred too bad. Kids are pretty resilient and forgiving too. You are not failing, you are learning and growoing and you are doing such a great job. You sound just like me and every other mom I know! Keep up the good work!!

  7. I also buy diced fruit and appleasauce in little cups. I think you can even buy peas and carrots in cups on the veggie aisle. They are so easy to throw in my bag when I know we are going to be out for a while and they might need something more than just snacky foods.

Leave a Reply

