Feel the rhythm, feel the rhyme

So, last week, due to circumstances outside of my control, I wasn’t able to make it to the gym Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday. Well, technically, I probably could have gone on Friday, but that’s BODYCOMBAT and I was afraid that I would just cry in the middle of class while punching the shit out of the air in front of me. So, for the sake of my pride, I didn’t go. Which means that I had a full 5 days out of the gym. That’s the longest lapse I’ve had in 2 months. Needless to say, I was a little nervous that my muscles were going to scream at me. There was a yogalates class going on, but I knew I would be totally wussing out if I did that class when BODYPUMP was available. Besides, I thought my favorite teacher Joye would be teaching it. She wasn’t. She was teaching BODYJAM. Well, that sounded easier better than weighlifting any day of the week.

What’s BODYJAM, you ask? Oh, it’s like a dance class. All kinds of dancing. A little bit of salsa, a little bit of jazz, a little bit of hip hop, and a whole lotta flair. In my mind, I keep thinking “Feel the rhythm, feel the rhyme, move your body, it’s BODYJAM time!” And I’m just going to tell you right now, if you were a blog writer you would’ve wanted to be in that class….because I would’ve given you all the material you needed for the day, cause I was feeling some kinda rhythm and a whole lotta rhyme! πŸ˜‰

Joye encouraged us to get “crazy” to just “let go”. She told us that “what happens in BODYJAM stays in BODYJAM” and for some reason, I believed her. So? I let go. I let go of all the crazy that happened last week. I let go of all the party planning. I let go of inhibition. And you know what happens when you let go of inhibition. You look like a fool. Like a complete and utter fool…but that’s ok, because you let go of caring. At the start of the second song Joye also said, “Ok ladies, get out your leopard print stilettos and push up that wonderbra…it’s SALSA time!” And, that’s why I love Joye.

The whole class worked around building this routine. It started with a little bit of a “robot-y twist”, then a little tap-tap with the feet, then bend over bouncing your booty while moving your hands from side to side, then a jiggity-jog with a snake move, into a full body roll slow and then fast, then some kind of hip move that I can’t even describe {and you know if I can’t describe it with words…what it looked like when I was doing it}.

Here’s what I looked like doing it: fling your body side to side with your arms stiff, tap-tap with the feet…look cool, girl – you got this, bend over and look like you’re slapping somebody on the butt and make weird faces, try not to trip over your feet…wait, stop and look at the teacher and figure out how the heck she’s doing this?!?!?!…ok jiggity-jog a little bit more and attemt the snake thing, push my chest forwards and move my arms in and out…wait, I think the teacher is demonstrating this specifically for me…didn’t work, finish with mad crazy pelvic thrusts while punching my arms in and out at various levels.

I’m genuinely not lying to you when I say that I looked C-R-A-Z-Y….genuinely, unapologetically, CRAZY. And then I went to go weigh myself. I have to admit. I was a little nervous because I hadn’t worked out in what seemed like forever, but no worries…I was down another 2lbs!!!!! So, if you’re counting…like I am, that’s 14lbs. And because I like math…that’s 6 away from 20. Heck yes!

3 responses to “Feel the rhythm, feel the rhyme

  1. Good for you! You are rocking this weight loss–14lbs in two months is incredible. I hope you feel as good as I’m sure you look πŸ™‚

  2. you are awesome!!! keep up the hard work!

Leave a Reply

