A Thursday Brain Dump

I absolutely loved writing our love story. To date, they were the easiest posts I’ve ever written. But, I missed blogging! Oh, I missed it so bad! This has been my daily “dumping ground” since January. I’m not kidding when I tell you that I go through my day thinking of potential blog posts, or how I could turn something into a blog post. So, needless to say, my brain is backed up and I need to get it unclogged! So, let the brain dumping begin.

IMG_8681

First, I feel like I just gave birth to a child. Literally. I took a group cycle class yesterday {confession: I took the class because Kelly Ripa loves cycling so much that she fully convinced me it would be a great workout}. I’m not going to say that I’ll never take another cycling class again, but, dang…it’s a TON of physical pain for a mere 300 calorie burn. I don’t mind my muscles hurting from a good workout. I’m used to that now. I do mind my bones hurting. Especially when the bones in question have to do with standing, sitting, and walking.

Secondly, um…Zoe’s party is in 2 1/2 weeks. Do you know what I have done? Fully, completely done? Nothing. Not a gosh darn thing. I’ve been writing invitations and compiling addresses all week, they’re about to go in the mail…tomorrow. This is my list of things I need to get done…

IMG_8684

Do you see that?!?!?!?! It’s 3 pages long! Holy Cow! It’ll all get done. I have no doubt about that. The great thing is that we are SURROUNDED by tons of friends and family. I should say that the other way around. Family first, right? Anyways, we have a TON of helping hands. Thank the Lord. I figure, if we do a little bit every single day, and a big thing every week, then we won’t have a ton to do immediately before the big day.

Third, I’m gettin’ my craft on for this party. Acutally, I’m just doing whatever is cheaper and still really pretty. So, that means that some of the decorations are going to handmade. Check this out…

IMG_8685

Now, imagine that times like 30 or 40, around our backyard in different colors. Like, down the fence line…

IMG_8688

That would be cute, right? And then I’m making a happy birthday banner. Should be pretty easy. I hope it’s easy. Btw. That’s not the first pom pom I made. This is…

IMG_8689

Yikes.

Fourth, if you scroll back up and take a good close look at that list, you’ll see that “clean the table” is on the list of things to do around the house. Wanna know why? Do you remember when I had that brilliant idea to turn the bookshelf in our living room into a “Zoe station”? Well, when I emptied the bookshelf, I put the basket and a few journals/photo albums on the dining room table. Guess where they still are? Which means that every night when we eat dinner, we just shift the junk out of the way and make a little space for ourselves. This would be OK if I were a 19-year-old man in college. Obviously, that’s not the case. I think my husband might develop a nervous twitch from the table. He should thank me for having the party at our house, if for no other reason than the table gets cleaned off.

IMG_8693

Next up, today I had round 3 of appointments, the chest X-Ray and thyroid ultrasound. This place thoroughly ticked me off. We made the appointment for 10:30. I was there at 10:30. I was the only person in the waiting room the entire time. I was seen at 11:15. Are you kidding me? I was the only person there and I had to wait for 45 minutes, with a child. I say the “with a child” part like it’s a handicap. It really isn’t. Zoe gets an A+ with public appearances. Rarely do we see a public meltdown. Curiosity, crawling off, talking and squealing…sure. But she rarely has a complete meltdown. Honestly though. I kinda wanted her to. It would’ve served them right…and maybe they would see me sooner.

IMG_8674

Earlier this week I had to have my blood and sugar levels tested. Janet a.k.a Gammy, watched Zoe because testing labs are kinda groddy and I didn’t want Zoe in there for 2 hours, which was how long I was supposed to be there. Was I there for 2 hours? No. Try 3. But, the good news is that I got through 3/4 of The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis…so that was awesome. While I was waiting to be called back I noticed this elderly couple. The lady was very frail and quite tiny…maybe 5’4″, and her husband was very tall…probably 6’3″. He was wearing a hat, shorts that were above his knees, long white socks and tennis shoes. It was his legs that got me. They were tall and skinny…just like Opa’s, and he was ushering his wife along…just like Opa did. I started crying softly in the middle of the waiting room. It’s the first time in a year that I’ve missed my Opa…but it was a sharp, deep missing.

{That’s Opa with my sister Jamielynn}
Opa and Jamielynn

And? On a little lighter note. Zoe has become something of a drama queen. It’s hilarious. She crawls through the house like a bat out of you know where, and every so often, on her way to wherever, she’ll stop, and look up at me.

IMG_8680

And then fall on the ground and lay there for a second or two.

IMG_8679

Then she pops back up and smiles at me, and then keeps crawling away to her bookshelf…where she tries to pull all the books off before I stop her.

IMG_8668

So weird. But, ridiculously adorable.

Happy Thursday ya’ll.

ps. I’m up to 11 lbs now! ELEVEN POUNDS! Whoohoo! Now my next stop is 20. Doesn’t that sound so much better than 10?
pps. My best friend sent me a text asking if I wanted to meet her for a haircut tonight. I said yes. Goodbye hair, hello short and sassy!

5 responses to “A Thursday Brain Dump

  1. i cant wait to see your new do. can you get feathers in your hair?? i hear they are all the rage and you are way cooler than me and could TOTALLY pull one off!! i want one so bad but i am afraid it would just make me look like i was trying too hard 🙂

    also, i love how Zoe is nay nay in all of her pics. we are rarely dressed around here either!!!

    • She likes to take her sippy cup, drink a little, and then spit it out onto herself. So, I let her soak her onesie and then I strip her down. It happens practically every day. And, I TOTALLY asked about the feather extension. I’m totally going to get one! I’ve been thinking about it for a few weeks…and I think it’ll look great with this cut.

  2. can that scrawny little one get any cuter?? Seriously??? I love the pics of her with the dog.

  3. Your daughter is so cute! Stumbled on your blog today, and I get a real kick out of your writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

