Our Story – Part 4

{If you’re new to Our Story, check out Part 1, 2, and 3 first and then hop on back over here for Part 4}

The Real Fun Begins

The weekend after our this-is-so-not-a-date date at the Landing I started telling my friends about Brad. He called Saturday night, and then again on Sunday. But, on Sunday he asked me out on a date. I said that would be great, but I was booked for the week. I could do something Thursday evening or Saturday morning. We agreed Saturday morning would be perfect. After I got off the phone, I went into the living room where my friend was waiting and proceeded to freak out. What had I just done? I WORK with this guy! I don’t even know if I like him! I remember telling my friend that Brad “was like solidly middle-aged”. {For the record, he was 34 when we met…but I was used to college boys, so that freaked me out}. My friend Kathryn laughed at me and told me to just go on the date and have fun.

The next day I got to work before him. I was sitting at my desk and when the door opened I turned to see who it was. Brad walked through the door and it was like I had been hit by a 2 x 4. It was as clear as the blue water of the Caribbean Ocean. I liked this guy…a lot. It was suddenly OK to like him. He’d asked me out on a bonafide date, and now butterflies were fluttering around in my stomach. I remember it being awkward between us at work that day, actually, that whole week. We liked each other. That was clear. But we had no idea what to do about it at work. After two full days of awkwardness at work I couldn’t take it any longer. I also couldn’t wait til Saturday morning. Patience is the hardest of all virtues.

As Brad walked me to my car that Tuesday evening we discussed our evening plans. I was triple booked: Dinner with one friend, a girls meeting for my college group at church, and then I was supposed to spend the night at a friends house. We said goodnight and as I drove out of the parking lot I called him to tell him that I’d decided to cancel everything but dinner, and would he like to get together? Then. Tonight. It totally threw him for a loop. He stumbled through saying yes. I was going to go to dinner and then go over to his house for a movie.

Let’s be perfectly clear about something. I was going over there with the intention of, at some point, kissing him. Let’s be even more clear, I wanted to make-out with him. I figured that would ease the physical awkwardness between us at work. When I walked into Brad’s house that night I noticed two things 1) He’d changed out of his work clothes and into a polo and dress slacks, and 2) everything was beige. Brad started moving furniture around. What in the world? I told him that the couches were fine where they were and we sat, like middle-schoolers, on the big couch. Brad sat tucked into the corner and I sat in the middle. We didn’t touch. At all. The awkwardness intensified. By 11:30pm I finally thought, “Screw it. This isn’t going to work” and started to leave. Brad walked me to my car and we stood talking for a second. In the middle of me saying something Brad leaned in and kissed me. It was so quick it took me a minute to realize that it had happened. So, I asked him if he’d just kissed me. He said yes and I doubled over laughing. I got into my car laughing. Drove back to Kathryn’s laughing. And kept laughing as I told her about the night.

Imagine, for a second, if you were Brad, and you’d just kissed a girl that you liked, a lot, and who you worked with…and she doubled over laughing and then kept laughing as she drove away. Oh, that poor guy. I really put him through the wringer. Needless to say, the awkwardness continued. Brad had a wedding to go to that Friday night, but asked if I wanted to meet up afterward. I said yes, and drove up to Atlantic Beach to meet him and his friends at a local bar. Apparently, they were dying to meet me. No pressure. Anyways, we hung out with them for a little bit and then Brad asked if I wanted to go for a walk on the beach. I was DYING to be alone with him.

The night couldn’t have been more perfect. It was a beautiful, clear night. You could see every star in the sky. A warm breeze and crashing waves. We held hands and walked, getting lost in conversation. We were playing 20 questions and for one of his questions Brad asked if he could kiss me. That was his only question. I said yes, and what followed was one of the most romantic moments of my life. It was perfect in every sense of the word. There was absolutely nothing awkward about it. People make movies about nights like that. We eventually made it back to our cars and said goodnight. It was a sweet goodbye…our “for real” date was in less than 8 hours.

The next morning we met for breakfast. That breakfast turned into an all day event. From that moment on nothing else mattered. Something I couldn’t explain was happening. My world was turning upside down, but in the best way possible. My schedule seemed to magically open up. Imagine that! Monday night we went out to dinner again. Followed by Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. Saturday was his brother’s engagement party/wedding shower and Brad asked if I wanted to go with him. Of course I wanted to go with him! I’d only forgotten one small detail. Remember that part about Brad not dating anybody in seven years? Yeah…Every single member of his large extended family knew that I was coming. It didn’t phase me at all. We had a great time together, and I loved meeting his family. Besides, the next day he was going to Animal Kingdom with my whole family for my mother’s birthday.

9 responses to “Our Story – Part 4

  1. Lol you are sofunny! I have a tendency to laugh at I appropriate moments as well. Aww Brad….

  2. I am SOOOOO loving this story!!!

  3. Awww I love reading your love story…your little girl is too cute! Stopping by from Jenna’s 🙂

  4. Excellent story!!

  5. So fun! What a great story. And I love that you went to Animal Kingdom for your mother’s birthday 🙂

  6. Pingback: Our Story – Part 5 | Confessions of a Reluctant Housewife

  7. That’s funny I’m 25 and sometimes feel like I’m in that “college guys/you have to date people around your age” phase and when I go on dating sites barely set the age range above 30 b/c their “old”

Leave a Reply

