Our Story – Part 3

{If you’re just tuning in, here’s Part 1 and Part 2}

Boy Likes Girl, Girl Doesn’t Even Notice

Our training class was scheduled to run for about a month, and then we were going to have two weeks in this side room on the phones before we were released to “the floor”. Ordinarily, this might seem like a really long time to be in training for a call center…but we were learning {what felt like} a foreign language. There was one major hang-up though, our trainer was awful…and by awful, I mean that the teacher in me still cringes with disgust when I think about that class. One day, I put little tally marks on the top of my notebook each time we did something productive. By the end of the day I had 8 marks, for a grand total of 1.75 hours of productive work. You know what that means, right? I got paid to talk all day long! I made friends with all the people around me, and some across the room. We were going to have a great time in this training class, I was just sure of it! When we would come back from breaks {how you take a break from doing absolutely nothing, I’m not sure, but we did} our trainer would have a little trivia question for us. It was a silly little game but I love playing games like that! I get so stinkin’ competitive it’s not even funny. I compulsively answer questions, even when I don’t know the answer.

Lucky for me, the guy sitting right behind me was a trivia genius! This guy knows everything! And he shared his answers with me! Suddenly, he became my new best friend in that class. I had a few girlfriends sitting around me, and we would talk all day long, and because he gave me answers, I would include Brad in the conversations. He was hilarious. All day long, he would rattle off these jokes or sarcastic remarks and we would just laugh and laugh. I was getting paid to get to know Brad. It was awesome. But, I never would have said that then. At the time, he was just a guy in my class who was funny. I was absolutely, in no way, shape, or form, interested in him. I was having way too much fun with my new friends to be sidetracked by a guy. Besides, remember? I was the common denominator in my own life, and I wasn’t even acknowledging the existence of a potential relationship until the guy in question asked me out on a date…and that hadn’t happened yet.

Brad, however, was doing everything he could to get my attention, and hating the fact that he wasn’t able to ask me on a date. Due to being unemployed for so many months, he was still playing “catch-up”. Brad would tell you that he spent those weeks terrified that another guy in class was going to snatch me up before he could make his move. His first step was to start winking at me. Every time he gave me a trivia answer he would follow it with a wink. The teacher ended up moving us across the room from each other because we talked so much, so throughout the day I would catch him looking at me across the room, and when he was caught, he would wink at me. At the time, I thought it was cute, but nothing more. Then he started going on walks with me and my friend Maria during our breaks. He very quickly started spending all of his breaks with us. Two weeks into class he was walking me to my car every single evening, and we would stand at my car anywhere from 15 minutes to 1 1/2 hours talking. Everybody in the class started talking. It was so obvious to them, Brad had the hots for me and how could I be so blind? I laughed and shrugged it off. I was absolutely not interested in him. He was old! No way, I said. The girls closest to me thought I was crazy. They could see the chemistry, they saw him winking, they saw us standing in the hall, they saw us walking to my car. It meant nothing to me.

Brad decided to step up his game. He invited me out one Saturday night. Not a date, mind you, we would be going out with his friends at the beach. He Facebooked me his phone number….as if I was going to call him first! Not.going.to.happen. I was running in the Gate River Run {a solid 9.2 miles} that morning, and literally couldn’t walk afterward, so I did end up calling and leaving a voicemail to say that I wasn’t going. I didn’t want him to think that I was just brushing him off, because that wouldn’t be very nice at all, so I made sure I was extra nice the next week. The following Wednesday, when he was walking me to my car, I asked him if he liked country music. He told me no, but wanted to know why. I said that my sister and I were going to a free country concert at the Landing on Friday night and wanted to see if he wanted to come. He said, “Sure, that sounds like a good idea”. And the look on his face completely changed. Panic literally flooded my soul and I immediately excused myself from the conversation, got in my car, and called my best guy friend…this is our conversation:

Me: Doug. Oh my god. I think this guy thinks that I asked him out on a date. What are you doing Friday night? You HAVE to come to the Landing with me.
Doug: I can’t come to the Landing. Back up. What guy?
Me: Brad. This guy from work. I think he thinks that I asked him out on a date.
Doug: Did you?
Me: God no! But he thinks I did. I don’t know what to do.
Doug: What did you ask him?
Me: To come to the Landing with me and Jamielynn on Friday night.
Doug: You for sure said Jamielynn?
Me: Yes.
Doug: Then he doesn’t think it’s a date.
Me: You’re sure?
Doug: Yes.
Me: You should come anyways
Doug: I can’t. He doesn’t think it’s a date. You’re good.

WRONG! He totally thought it was a date! He was ridiculously excited for Friday night, but hid it quite well. Friday afternoon, on a break, I asked how he wanted to get to the Landing. Should we all get there seperately, or did he want to pick me up and then pick Jamielynn up? He looked at me with the most confused look you can imagine. He’d never heard me say that Jamielynn was coming. He only heard me ask him out on a date. He took it all in stride though, and we decided he would pick me up and then we’d get Jamielynn.

After the concert we decided to go to the local country line dancing bar on the second floor of the Landing. Almost as soon as we got upstairs we ran into two guys from our training class. Brad leaned over to me and said, “Do you think they know about us?” Sirens went off in my head. US? US???? There’s is no “us” buddy! I know that road! No, sir! There is certainly no “us”. I shrugged it off and we ended up having a great rest of the evening together, laughing and dancing, and then we dropped my sister and her friend off. Brad pulled up to my friends condo {I was currently sleeping on her couch} and parked his car. We ended up talking for over an hour. During the hour I moved closer and closer to my door until I was literally pressed up against it. What if this guy tried to kiss me? Oh.my.god. I didn’t even know if I liked him! I was going to have to see him Monday morning and I didn’t want to lead him on. I inched closer to my door. I looked at the clock, it was 4:30am, Brad was in the middle of a story. I interrupted him. I told him I had a great time, and I would see him at work on Monday and then got out of the car. He had to roll down his window to reply. I was already halfway to the stairs.

9 responses to “Our Story – Part 3

  1. Coming back from Jenna’s. I visited yesterday and just had to hear what happened next in the story!

    • Thanks for coming back! Keep tuning in…there’s a couple more parts. Tomorrow’s is one of my favorites!

  2. OMG,why are you doing this? I want the whole story!!! I can’t wait for the next installment!!!!

  3. OMG please keep writing. i can’t take this. Also – you are SO MEAN 🙂 lol poor Brad…. no I’m not entirely serious and no i do not actually think you are mean 🙂

  4. I love the story, and the suspense!

  5. Pingback: Our Story – Part 4 | Confessions of a Reluctant Housewife

  6. Pingback: Our Story – Part 5 | Confessions of a Reluctant Housewife

Leave a Reply

