365 x 2 + the rest of our lives

Two years ago this Sunday I married the love of my life. We had known each other for exactly 4 months and 1 week. It could have been the worst mistake of my life, but instead it was the best decision I’ve ever made. The night before we got married we got into the biggest fight that, to date, we’ve ever gotten into. My friend Kristin had given me some advice earlier in the relationship to “not marry him until we’ve gotten into at least one fight”. So, I remember thinking, even during the fight, “Ah! We can get married now! We’ve had a fight!” The next morning was a beautiful, quiet Friday morning in Atlantic Beach. The only person who knew we were eloping was my friend Brittney who served as our witness, and also the photographer.

IMG_8501

I can’t find the picture taken immediately after we said, “I do”, but it’s my favorite picture ever. The pure joy on both of our faces reveals all the emotions of the morning. Right after the “ceremony” we took our “engagement” pictures.

IMG_8473

And then Brad had a mild hissy fit because he got sand in his pants.

IMG_8486

Then we met some friends at the Budweiser plant in town for a tour, and then I met my sisters and Kristin to try on bridesmaid’s dresses for HOURS. Can you imagine eloping and then spending the day with the closest people to you and not being able to say anything? It was crazy. Brad and I went out to a nice dinner here in town and then the next day we went to a Nascar race. Classy. We were there with a few of his guy friends. Which means, I spent my “honeymoon” in a hotel room with Brad and 2 other guys.

IMG_8490

Then we came home and started planning our wedding. It was a few weeks before we told anybody that we were married, and in all honesty, we don’t really celebrate this one. But, we do acknowledge it as the official start of our marriage. I know it’s weird, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

So, here’s to 2 years down and the rest of our life to go. I love you Brad Harvin. Deeply.

IMG_8484

3 responses to “365 x 2 + the rest of our lives

  1. I think we need a detailed post on how you met Brad and decided to marry him after 4 months. I missed that part of your life and I bet it’s a great story.

  2. OH MY GOD!!!!!!!!!! I DID NOT KNOW ANY OF THIS! Most of our friends thought that Jon and I were crazy because we got engaged at 23 after being together for 8 months, but this one beats it! 🙂 MORE MORE MORE I want to hear MORE 🙂

  3. What a beautiful story of the power of faith, love, and trust in God and one another. Happy anniversary! Here’s to many, many more!

Leave a Reply

