A Road Trip in my Imagination

Today after a crazy workout at the gym we went to Target for some pacifiers because somebody likes to throw her pacifiers when she goes down for a nap and they mysteriously disappear. For real. We can’t find them anywhere. They’ve gone into the abyss that is Zoe’s crib. I digress. So we were leaving Target and there were two ladies, one with a folder, standing and staring down customers as they were leaving. Survey ladies. Shit. I accidentally made eye contact. Shit times 2. I was hot. I was sweaty. I just busted my BUTT at the gym. Yes, of course I’ll take your survey. Awesome. But, they promised it would be quick so I put on a happy face and obliged them their survey. It was only 2 questions..,

First question: If you found out that you won a trip to Hawaii and you had to leave immediately, what would the first 5 items that you packed be?

My response: A toothbrush, underwear, bras, swimsuits, and diapers.

That’s literally the first five things that came to my mind. Is something wrong with me? What about packing clothes? Or shoes?

Second question: If you could go for on a road trip anywhere, where would you go, who would you go with, and what kind of music would you listen to?

My immediate response: Somewhere out west, west of Colorado, maybe Northwest, or I would go Southwest, New Mexico maybe? Oh! The Grand Canyon! Washington State! Oregon! Oh…the possibilities! Idaho! Mountains! Um, I would take my husband or one of my best girlfriends, definitely not her {as I looked at Zoe in the cart} at this age, and I would listen to probably all different types of music.

That was it. They thanked me for my time. I walked to my car, put Zoe in her car seat, backed out of my spot and got lost in my imagination. It’s always been my dream to go out west. Honestly, I would love to live out west some where. Aside from the 2 years that I spent living in Michigan, I’ve lived in Florida for as long as I can remember. I know that people want to live in Florida for the beaches…but, if you don’t like heat {and I don’t} and you hate humidity {which I do}, then Florida isn’t really the place for you. I’ve dreamed of living out west for as long as I can remember. I see pictures of mountains and I salivate. Pictures of the Grand Canyon make me start brainstorming how to get out there. I get a jealous twinge every time I read stories about peoples lives in the Northwest. I mean, wouldn’t you?

road trip 1

Look at that! I that’s Colorado. This one’s Oregon. Don’t you want to see that? In real life?

road trip 4

Oh, the Grand Canyon! The beauty of the Grand Canyon. I’ve heard it’s absolutely breathtaking. I want my breath to be taken away standing on the rim. I would LOVE to hike down into the Canyon.

road trip 2

And Utah. Who would have ever thought that Utah could be so beautiful?

road trip 6

When I was at camp on of my really good friends one summer wanted to live in Idaho. I remember thinking, “Who the heck even lives in Idaho…much less wants to MOVE there?” But then I googled it, and I understood.

road trip 3

What about whale watching off the coast of Washington? Doesn’t that sound AMAZING?!?!?!? Ugh! I wanna go!!!!!!!! Goodness gracious! I’ve heard that you can rent kayaks and go out into specific bays where whales like to visit. Can you imagine being in a kayak when a humpback whale pops up out of the water and slaps his tail down on the water. Can you imagine that?

road trip 5

And this next picture just makes me want to pick up a backpack and go hiking through the mountains, if only to have lunch beside this river. Oregon has a special beauty to it that is all it’s own….or, at least, that’s what it seems like in pictures.
road trip 7

So…that’s me, that’s my fantasy road trip. Now it’s time for you to take the survey! Again, the questions are: 1) IF you were going to Hawaii and you had to leave immediately, what are the first 5 items that you would pack? 2) If you could go on a road trip anywhere, where would you go, who would you bring, and what type of music would you listen to?

Happy Tuesday everybody!

PS- For the record, if Zoe was a little bit older I would totally have included her on the road trip. She was disqualified simply because of her age. =)

4 responses to “A Road Trip in my Imagination

  1. I love living in AZ. The Summers are sometimes difficult but the rest of the year makes it so worth it. I hope you make it to the Grand Canyon one day. It is absolutely gorgeous!!! I have pictures on my FB profile!!

  2. This makes me think of our many backpacking adventures… I would totally accompany you on any of these trips, to any of these locations…just in case you need another friend to go along with you. Let me know if you need me to send you my qualifications! 😉

  3. Bathing suit; flip flops; beach coverup; pajamas; and contact lenses.
    I’d like to go to D.C. in the fall.

Leave a Reply

