A list about Bodypump

1) I walked into the class with a “deer in the headlights” look on my face. A very nice lady got me all set up. The instructor came and introduced herself to me. I asked her if I was going to die. She said no. Then I cried.

2) The only other time I’ve ever cried before a physical test of endurance was at the starting line of the Gate River Run in 2009. I cried for the first 1/2 mile.

3) Both times it was due to anxiety. I knew the task at hand was more than my body was ready for. And I thought I was going to die. Figuratively speaking, of course.

4) In Bodypump you do 1 muscle group for 5 straight minutes. It’s a mix of cardio and weight training.

5) That means I did squats for 5 minutes straight.

6) Which is exactly why I feel every muscle in my legs.

7) The other sets of exercises were: triceps, lunges, back, biceps, and abs.

8 ) But the music was so loud, and the class moved with such rhythm that I barely noticed.

9) The teacher at one point gave me a shout out in the middle of class, it went something like: “You’re doing awesome new girl!”

10) That’s right. I rocked that class.

11) The lady {another instructor} in front of me who walked me through the class told me I was “a natural”. {Take that, lap pool.} She also said that I was going to feel muscles I didn’t know I had.

12) According to one source there are between 656 and 850 muscles in the human body.

13) I can feel approximately 547 of mine.

14) But, aside from all of that, BodyPump rocked my world. I left jubilant. Sore, but jubilant. I’m totally going again.

15) Maybe next time I’ll do more than 1lb weights on each side of the bar! =)

On a side note

I’ve been going to the gym for 1 week now and I can already feel a difference in my body. More importantly, I feel a difference in my persona. Is that the right word? I don’t know. What I’m trying to say is, I’m happier and more talkative and more ALIVE than I’ve been in MONTHS…and that’s a really good thing. My goal here is to take things one step at a time, not over exert myself, and make it to the finish line. This is a marathon, not a sprint. So, that said…I’m going to start a separate blog about this journey because I don’t want to consume this one with workout stories. I need to write myself through this…doe that make sense? It’s going to be a very honest account of what I’m going through, what brought me to this point in the first place, the battles I fight in my head as I go {think “Date with a lap pool”}, and the changes I’m seeing in my day to day life. It will also be light-hearted and fun. BUT! I can’t start it without a name! That’s the only thing holding me back. So, suggestions PLEASE! I want it to be fun/catchy/obviously about a journey to health/balance…..k, ready? Go!

Oh, and because I’ve done practically nothing but talk about the gym this week…here’s a picture of Zoe. She was feeding herself a banana and she misplaced a piece.

IMG_8007

And then another one because I just can’t resist.

IMG_8030

Happy Friday Ya’ll! What are your plans this weekend?

4 responses to “A list about Bodypump

  1. Yay for you! That’s awesome. I took a good look at myslef in the mirror today and then ran crying and hid under my bed. Not really, but it wasn’t good. More than how I look is how I feel and it’s completely out of shape. I don’t have a gym nearby, but I need to do something else – workout videos or something. I need exercise!!! Glad you rocked your class and it’s making a difference in your daily life already. Your post is an inspiration to read.
    -FringeGirl

  2. Go, you! Your perseverance–going back to the gym three times within a week–is incredibly admirable. Keep up the good work! You’re being a great example of a strong woman for your little girl. Happy weekend!

  3. Earlier today I wrote a post about my hopes of losing a few lbs. It will post tomorrow. Your posts are encouraging me so keep it up!!!

  4. Pingback: A list about Bodypump « Operation Skinny Jeans

Leave a Reply

