Zoe Grace, 10 months

**Sidenote: Because I was out running around town today we didn’t get to do a whole photo shoot. The pictures are random pictures from my phone…so, they’re not the best quality. We’ll get that photo shoot in later this week {hopefully}**

My darling Zoebear…you’re 10 months old today. Two months shy of your first birthday. It used to feel so far away and now it’s just right around the corner. What am I going to do? Cry, more than likely. But, that’s not today…that’s two months away, so, for right now, we’re going to celebrate 10 months!

WP_000193

This has been a CRAZY month for you developmentally. The craziest yet! In the span of 1 week you started: crawling, blowing kisses on a regular basis, saying goodbye every time you left somewhere, signing back to me “more” and “all done”, pulling up on EVERYTHING, cruising around the furniture, choosing which book you wanted to read, choosing which food you wanted to eat, you ate your first full table food meal, and dancing. Did you catch all that? That was just in ONE WEEK. Our heads were spinning, your Daddy and I couldn’t keep up with you. It was like we started that week with one baby and we ended it with a completely different one.

{You now escape diaper changes}
WP_000170

The rest of the month has been spent finessing those new talents. It’s been so fun to watch!

V__F250

Another development that started this month is that you started becoming afraid. It doesn’t happen all the time, mostly it’s in new situations. For instance, when we went to the condo and we took you swimming. I swear you acted like you were going to drown for the first 20 minutes. It’s not that you don’t return to your normal adventurous self, it’s just that it takes you a little bit. I’ve also noticed that you’re a little bit more leery of strangers. You prefer your Daddy or me, and sometimes, it’s just me. That’s a new one to get used to. For 9 1/2 months you went to anybody and everybody, no questions asked. Now, you cling to my shirt as if your life depended on it, turning your whole body into me and looking at the person with panic in your eyes. Don’t worry, I seldom make you do anything that you don’t want to do. Another twist to our norm is that even when you willingly go to somebody you have a much shorter limit than before, especially if you can see me. When you can see me, you might go to them to say “hi”, but that’s about it…you want back in my arms.

WP_000169

Let’s talk stats. We’re hanging out at 4 teeth, 2 on top and 2 on bottom….BUT, you have 2 more on the bottom beginning the cutting process. I mean this with every ounce of sincerity I possess…teething is from the devil. You weigh 18 1/2 lbs, and I think that you’re 29 inches long. However long you are, you’re in the 95th percentile for height. When you wear shoes you’re a size 2, but let’s be honest, you almost never wear shoes. You hate them. When I pull them out of the drawer you start curling your toes up. Funny girl. You have to start wearing them now though, because you’re standing, cruising, and crawling… and you’re just weeks away from walking, so shoes are a must. Oh Zoe, I’m praying that you don’t start walking for a while. I know that’s not going to happen, but a mom can hope…can’t she? And, if you could, can you please wait until both your Daddy and I are with you to take your first step? That would be awesome.

WP_000185

I think, hands down, my very favorite new development is your babble. Oh honey…you are the cutest baby on the face of the entire planet, especially when you babble. We catch you talking to everything…the dogs, your pacifier, my wallet, your reflection, and sometimes..to nothing at all. But, my very very very favorite, is when you babble to protest. You believe that you’re talking, you really do, and it’s the funniest thing ever. You protest when you have to get your diaper changed and you don’t want to, or if you know that bedtime is coming. You protest if your Daddy takes too long to change you. It comes out a series of “babababa’s” but your pitch goes up and down and it honestly sounds like you’re having a conversation. I’ve tucked these little protests deep down in my heart and my memory, so one day down the road…when you’re a teenager and you’re sassing me at every turn, I can think back…and my soul will sigh a deep sigh and I will smile a smile that only a mother knows.

HL_20110526135309

You are my world and I love you to pieces.

7 responses to “Zoe Grace, 10 months

  1. cutie pie. this means its time to start planning her first birthday!!! wahooo!!! i have been thinking about our 1st bday party since AM hit 6 months! happy 10 months zoe!

    • Are you stressing about it as much as I am? I literally go to bed thinking about this party…mostly because I need ideas, and I’m stressing about the guest list!

  2. I love that toothy grin! She is such a cutie!

  3. I love the pictures 🙂 and that toothy smile!!!

  4. Wow! Look at those cute lil’ teeth! I would love to come to her first birthday party Rebecca. I love that baby, and I can’t believe she is gonna be 1! Doesn’t seem possible… but it’s all good! lol! 😉

Leave a Reply

