It ended too quickly

At 6:45 am this morning when a 100lb dog jumped on our bed, the tiny dog rolled around making random noises on the floor, the baby cried in the room down the hall, and Brad’s alarm went off I was keenly aware that vacation was over. It was such a short vacation…2 1/2 days, but it was 2 1/2 days away from chaos, getting my feet stepped on 5,000 times a day, my phone ringing off the hook, bills, heavy decisions, and the mundane stress that everyday life brings. It was short, but it was perfect.

Friday at noon the car was packed and I was sitting outside of Brad’s work ready to go. One quick stop for lunch and another for groceries and before we knew it we were at the condo. We stayed at this same condo last year as a wedding present from Brad’s aunt and uncle. They own an oceanfront condo in Flagler Beach {which is just about an hour South on 95 from where we live}, it’s us and a bunch of old people. Which is exactly how we like it.

Photo1077
Photo1078

When we got there this year, after we unpacked, we laid down in the ginormous king sized bed to see if Zoe would go to sleep. As we were laying there we remembered that it was in that same place, last year on Mother’s Day, that Brad felt Zoe kick for the first time. This year, we took a family picture.

IMG_7601

And then we drove to Publix so that I could buy mascara and eye liner because oh.my.god…my face has absolutely no color without makeup. Sheesh. I’m pretty sure that Brad thought I was crazy, but I wanted to like myself in pictures. Other than having to drive around to get Zoe to sleep because we showed up to a new place right before naptime {lesson learned} we had a really quiet night.

IMG_7616
IMG_7638

Saturday after breakfast on the patio while listening to the ocean in the background, we decided to actually go to the beach.

DSC00016
DSC00019

She wasn’t a fan. So we took her to the pool. She wasn’t a fan. So we went back to the condo. She thanked us by officially crawling. That’s right…we have a crawler. She’s been psuedo-crawling for weeks, and she’s even crawled a little every day…but it’s like 2-5 crawls and then she’s back to her army crawl. This, my friends, was the real deal. Crawling is now her primary means of self-travel and my comfort zone just went up in flames.

{For the record, my “for the love…” comment in this video is because I have, no joke, 6 other home videos where she decides to just SIT, even though she’d just crawled}

After her morning nap we went back to the pool where I forced her to go swimming. I know, she’s only 9 months old and already I’m forcing her to do things she doesn’t want to do. She’ll thank me one day, I’m sure of it! It took her about 20 minutes to realize that she wasn’t going to drown and for those 20 minutes she wanted one thing, and one thing only, my boobs. She wouldn’t even go to her Dad. It was crazy. But, like I said, after 20 minutes we had our fun-loving Zoe back, she even squealed with delight a time or two.

I wish I could show you a picture with her eyes open, but she didn’t really open them for a while.
IMG_7719

Back to the condo for lunch and naptime, which is what I used as “me time”. I think one of the hardest things for me to do is to willingly leave Brad when he’s home. It’s hard. He doesn’t like it, I don’t like it, but it’s good. It’s good to have some alone time. I went down to the pool for about an hour, read {imagine that!!!}, came back to a quiet condo, took a bubble bath, made myself a tasty beverage, and gave myself a facial. It was wonderful! By the time that Brad and Zoe woke up I felt like a whole new person.

Photo1084
DSC00025
IMG_7738

We decided to do dinner out that night. There’s this cute little place right on the ocean that serves awesome {reasonably priced} seafood. We ate, Zoe flirted with everybody who came in, and we got drenched because we decided to go to dinner right as the heavens opened. Thankfully, it was really quick and then it was over. Saturday evening was really chill. We watched a movie that we’d rented, ate junk food, and just enjoyed each others company. Sometimes it’s just really nice to do nothing but enjoy the company of your spouse.

Sunday played out almost exactly like Saturday, which was perfect. We enjoyed the beach {I got bit by a crab for the first time in my life!}, the pool was a little too cold to go in {due to the rain}, Brad and Zoe stayed in at naptime while I basked in the sun and then we packed up to go home.

Now, the grand finale…here’s my very favorite picture and video from the weekend. Enjoy!

First the video

And now my favorite family picture

DSC00026

All in all it was a fantastic weekend and I really wish I was back there today. Reality has been hard to swallow today.

What about you? What did you do this weekend?

6 responses to “It ended too quickly

  1. I love the photo you took of yourself during “Rebecca time.” Glad to hear you had a good weekend! We went to my brother-in-law’s commencement, which meant lots of good family time. My Monday was not as rude an awakening as I’d expected it to be, and I hope you likewise have a great week!

    • so glad your Monday was better than mine!!!! I was so thankful that I had a planned girls night in the evening because by the time dinner rolled around I was ready to pull my hair out! =)

  2. You guys are HILARIOUS and…umm…I didn’t know Zoebear was part frog! lol! šŸ˜‰ Glad you guys had a good time! šŸ™‚

  3. ha. the last video totally cracked me up!!! you sound so refreshed and rejuvinated and I am totally jealous. this week has been one where the hubby has worked too much and i have been at home too much – i need a vacay šŸ™‚ p.s. zoe looks SO tall! she makes my little anne margaret look like a shrimp! ha!

    • It’s easy to sound refreshed and rejuvenated when there’s not any stress in your life =) And Zoe’s in the 95th percentile for height…so she’s pretty much taller than any other kid her age…and it’ll probably stay that way until high school, poor girl. =)

Leave a Reply

