A Day to be Remembered

IMG_7539

I woke up yesterday like it was Christmas morning. It was my morning to sleep in but my eyes flew open at 7am and I couldn’t go back to sleep. It was Mother’s Day. This Mother’s Day was going to be different than any other Mother’s Day I’d ever celebrated because this Mother’s Day I had a little baby sleeping in the room right next to mine. Some days I still can’t believe it. Some days it’s still so surreal. I am a mom. I’m waiting for the day when that part of my identity feels like the most comfortable pair of old jeans in my closet.

My eyes flew to my Mother’s Day present from Brad and Zoe.

IMG_7528

It’s so sweet that I cry almost every time that I look at it. I love it. I love it with every fiber of my being. It’s so sweet. Brad leaned over and kissed me good morning and then headed downstairs while I nursed my Zoebear. We cuddled and snuggled, I kissed her head and told her how much I loved and adored her, then Brad was back upstairs with a single rose in a vase, cards, and a present. It was crepes! He scurried back downstairs to get breakfast going and Zoe kept snuggling with me in bed. Her fever seemed to be gone, so that was great. Zoe and I headed downstairs to hang out with Daddy and help with the crepes. They were d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s! And then we headed to church.

IMG_7514
IMG_7544

Because Zoe had a fever Friday and Saturday we decided to keep her with us in the sanctuary, which meant that I got to hold her the WHOLE service. And what a little snugglebug she was! She fell asleep on my chest as we sang a song called, “You are Good”. There’s a portion of the song that just repeats that phrase over and over again. On a normal day, I love that song. On Mother’s Day, as I held my daughter close to my chest and sang that song, it was overwhelming. Tears streamed down my face as a sense of indescribable gratefulness washed over me. How indescribably blessed I am. To be a wife to an incredibly amazing husband and a mother to Zoe. I know that I keep using the word “indescribable” but…I can’t think of words that describe it!

The sermon was on nurturing potential and how that trait in mother’s is a characteristic of God. If I struggle with anything as a mom, it’s feeling like I am a “nurturer”. At the end of the message, like always, the pastor asked all the mother’s in the congregation to stand up. For the first time in my life I stood up. As Pastor Daniel prayed over us, and I swayed with Zoe in my arms, tears {again} flowed freely down my cheeks.

As we were leaving church it became apparent that Zoe’s fever was back so we called the family and went to Plan B, everybody at our house. The rest of the day was about celebrating my mom and enjoying family. The fever came and went and Zoe was passed around from person to person. Later in the day as Brad and I laid Zoe in her crib for the night, we kissed her little cheeks and I whispered, “Thanks for making me a mommy. I love you.”

Three generations.
IMG_7553

The tiny {sleepy} little lady who made me a mommy.
IMG_7556

I will cherish yesterday for as long as I live.

Here’s the song I was talking about.

4 responses to “A Day to be Remembered

  1. Happy Mother’s Day!!

  2. so so so sweet! i am glad miss zoe is feeling better. those crepes look amazing!

  3. Pingback: Quick Recap via Facebook | Confessions of a Reluctant Housewife

Leave a Reply

