A living breathing fairy tale

In a way I feel like I grew up with him. After all, we’re the same age. I’m like a month older. In a very distant kind of way. As in, he was in the magazines, his picture was beside my bed, I talked to him, I was glued to the tv the night his mum died, I cried at her funeral. He was, beyond what I could possibly describe in a blog, my teenage crush. From age 15 to about 19 no other guy compared to him. My best friend Erin and I would write each other letters in school and we would sign them, “The future queen of England” or “Future Princess of Wales”. We would promise to the other person that they would be our Lady in Waiting once we were in the palace. Who was our future husband, you ask? Oh, only the prince. Prince William Arthur Philip Louis…the future king of England.

{This isn’t the photo that I had beside my bed. That photo was striking. This is around the same age though}
royal wedding 4

Obviously, my crush on him diminished with time. But, just the name Prince William is so packed with memories for me. He was such a part of my teenage years…funny, I don’t think I was part of his! 🙂 At the news of his engagement Erin and I FREAKED out. Our prince was getting married! Kate was going to be a princess. Oh, and she was going to be such a beautiful princess.

This morning I woke up 30 minutes early with the thought, “WILLIAM IS MARRIED!!!!!!!!!!!!!” I was so excited I couldn’t go back to sleep, but I knew I didn’t want to get up too early because we have a looooooong day today. I caved at about 6:45, I HAD to see it. When I turned on the tv, this is the image that I saw.

royal wedding 1

And I cried.

I literally cried. Because of Kate. Do you see her? She is stunning. And she’s a princess. She’s wearing a tiara…and it’s not from Claire’s…the QUEEN OF ENGLAND gave it to her. She’s a fairy tale come to life. I get choked up just thinking about it.

royal wedding 3

Then I had to get ready. You know that everybody who attends a royal wedding  has to wear a hat.

IMG_6880

And I could think of nothing better than English Muffins and tea for breakfast. Actually, scones or crumpets would’ve been better. But an English Muffin would have to do. Brad came downstairs and started making fun of me. He made fun of me until he walked out of the door. As in, as he was walking out the door he did one of those nice little coughs where he said, “Who gives a shit???” Not nice, Brad…not nice. Especially when yesterday I talked about how much I love him. I received a text at about 8:30, it said, “Am I in the doghouse?” I replied, “You’re at the entrance”. He’s for sure got some making up to do.

IMG_6890

Then a special little someone woke up just in time for the big kiss. She had to wear a hat too.

IMG_6899

IMG_6902

It was a fabulous morning. I laughed. I aaaahed. I cried. I exploded with happiness. I missed my best friend with every fiber of my being. I genuinely hope that their marriage lasts and that they love each other until their dying day. And I hope that Kate gets some rest…because I have a feeling she hasn’t had a lot of down time the last month. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to get ready…because I have wedding for a dear friend {that I actually know} in about 3 hours and I haven’t even started getting ready for it!

royal wedding 2

Have a wonderful weekend everybody!

Ps…what did you do for the royal wedding????

4 responses to “A living breathing fairy tale

  1. Kristin Brænne

    ★★★★★

  2. Oh. My. Goodness. That photo of Zoe with the hat is TOO MUCH. She is as much a little princess as anyone, I’d say!

  3. I laughed out loud when I read the line about the tiara. So funny! I was up this morning anyway to take my son to meet the bus for his band trip, so when I got back, I woke my daughter up and we watched it together! It was fun. I also hope that they have a wonderful marriage. They deserve it!

    Cute pictures in your lovely hat! One of the more attractive ones I’ve seen today. You both look like princesses.

  4. Well, when I got home from work today, I hit the internet and watched every video, and read almost every article! Was BEAUTIFUL! And you are right, Kate was STUNNING!! I only wish Princess Di could have been here to see her first born get married. Think she was smiling down from Heaven? I cried as well…
    Such cute pics of you and Zoebear! LOVE the hat! Mother and Daughter Princess Duo!! You are both adorable!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

