One more reason why I love Brad

“Tell Brad I said ‘hi’ and tell him ‘thanks for letting me steal you all afternoon’.”

As I drove home I thought about that line. Originally, I’d shrugged it off. Of course Brad took Zoe for the evening. Why wouldn’t he take Zoe for the evening? But the more I thought about it, the more I realized that might not actually be normal. I know several families where the dad wouldn’t really know what to do if they were left with the kids in the spur of the moment for the whole evening. Why was it spur of the moment? Good question…

So I’ve been working on this chalkboard thing for my wall. I’ll tell you about it in another post. I screwed it up. I’ll tell you about that in another post too. I needed to get out of the house so I can reset my mind, so Zoe and I left for Target. On a whim I changed from my yoga pants into jeans. As I was walking out of my house I received a text from a friend asking if I wanted to get lunch. So my 1 hour trip to Target turned into a 2 1/2 hour trip, no big deal. Well, then at lunch I received a call from a friend. It was the type of call where you drop everything you’re doing, make whatever arrangements need to be made, and get to their side. Immediately. Which is exactly what I did.

My first call was to get Zoe taken care of because I knew I needed to focus. Luckily, my parents were home and didn’t have any plans, so Zoe got to spend the afternoon with them. She’s a pretty lucky gal. They took her to St. Augustine to look at the shops. I’m sure she loved it. On my way to meet my parents and my friend I called Brad. I left a message telling him what was going on, that I didn’t know when I would be back, and that I would touch base as I could. That’s it. The awesome thing is, that’s all it took.

I was still with my friend when Brad got off. We spoke on the phone for maybe 2 minutes. I called again on my way to dinner to tell him that I wouldn’t be home any time soon. By the time I did get home my 1 hour trip to Target had unexpectedly turned into a 9 hour day.

As I thought about her statement, “tell him thanks for letting me steal you this afternoon”, I realized, it’s not just second nature for me…it’s second nature to my husband too. Can I tell you how grateful I am for that? It would be perfectly acceptable, and even normal, for my husband to get upset that I dropped everything and ran, with very little explanation, to my friend. It would be understandable if he was jealous of the amount of time that I spent with her today. But, he wasn’t. I love that.

Today I am incredibly grateful that I live in the same town as my family, and that they are so willing to watch Zoe, even on a moments notice. I am also incredibly grateful for a husband who will gladly be inconvenienced for people in need. It allows me to be who I was created to be.

Have a wonderful day!

~Rebecca~

ps. Again, Flickr isn’t working for me…so no picture =(
pps. I’ll have that Motherhood Part II post later this week.
pps. Love you guys!

4 responses to “One more reason why I love Brad

  1. “It allows me to be who I was created to be.” THIS is what marriage is all about. Well said. Hope things get better for your friend soon. She’s lucky to have you and your family in her life!

  2. It’s awesome when husbands actually let their wives have a life outside of the home! It makes you want to rush home even faster to see them šŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on Motherhood Part II « Confessions of a Reluctant Housewife

Leave a Reply

