Well, hello there

Sorry for the recent break in writing this weekend. I haven’t written a post since Thursday and it feels like FOREVER! It’s not because I haven’t wanted to, it’s been because we’ve been so busy! I missed writing. I missed you guys.

We’ve had an interesting weekend. Friday evening, on our way to the restaurant to celebrate a birthday, Zoe started crying in the backseat. Loudly. We tried all of our car tricks and nothing worked. Now, it could be that she didn’t really take good naps that day because we were running around town, or it could be that it was 6:30 and I’d forgotten to feed her. Whoops. So I hopped in the backseat while we were stuck in traffic and fed her. It didn’t work, it only gave us a brief intermission. It was miserable, and by the time we got to the restaurant both Brad and I were completely stressed out. The restaurant kinda distracted her, but she was still pretty picky about Brad sitting down, what she wanted to play with, shrieking {her new favorite thing} and then finally she just cried. And cried. And cried. Of course, so would I if I was 7 months old and up WAY past my bedtime.

If I’ve said it once I’ve said it a million times…the beauty of a schedule is that the baby is predictable. The downside is that the parents have to follow it….which means not going to lunch at 1:30 because naptime is at 2. And not going to a dinner that you know is going to take a while when it starts at 7, because bedtime is at 8 and you’re an hour away from home. Stuff like that. Stuff that I don’t think about. Stuff that gets me in trouble all the time.

Turns out, on top of a mom who doesn’t remember to feed her, and who doesn’t put her to bed on time…Zoe was getting sick. Not anything horrible. Nothing to go to the doctor over. Just miserable. Runny nose, can’t breathe, slight fever…you know, the kind of sick that goes hand in hand with teething. The kind of sick that makes mommy’s heart hurt. The kind of sick that is pitiful and you can’t do anything about, except cuddle and kiss, and pray the sickies away. These teeth need to GET HER ALREADY!!!!

Saturday we were supposed to go to another birthday party. I was really looking forward to it. But Zoe needed to stay home. So we did. Because we had to stay home I decided to decoupage Zoe’s dresser. Decoupage is a fancy word for gluing scrapbook paper to the front of the dresser. I was nervous…really nervous. I am the farthest thing from a perfectionist that you’ve ever seen. I would LOVE to be a quasi perfectionist…but I just don’t have that gene. I’ve never had that gene. Which means that art projects often go awry. The dresser, however, didn’t! It turned out perfectly {for the most part}.

Here’s the before and after…

IMG_4199
IMG_4945

I love it!

Sunday was another big day. Jon and Liz got back from drill, Janet brought her dogs over for the week and it was also Zoe’s dedication day. That’s a big deal. That’s the reason why we made sure to hide out in the house so that Zoe could get somewhat better. I’m going to write a whole post on this later so I’ll only say that it went perfectly, and I didn’t cry. Thank God. After the dedication my family went to dinner. I don’t think I’ve laughed that much with my family in a long time. A very long time. It was wonderful. Zoe practiced her new trick, waving, and everybody “oohed” and “aaahed” and tried to get her to do it over and over. She mastered it today….well, almost mastered it. It’s been a constant progression of mastery.

So that’s it. That’s where I’ve been. It’s been really quiet. I’ve been snuggling with my sick little baby. And Brad and I have had some really good {technology free} quality time together…except for Facebook on my phone. I’m addicted to that. Maybe I should have given that up for Lent instead of cussing. Which, by the way is going swell…except I’ve started cussing in my dreams. How weird is that?

Check out Zoe’s new trick!

So, what did you do this weekend?

4 responses to “Well, hello there

  1. Our little ones are on the same schedule! Jacob has his first cold now, too. Boo for sick babies! But yay for cute dressers and waving babies. There’s always an up side, right?

  2. I can’t believe she waves! My 9month old just learned how! :)P.S. I love your blog

    • Thanks! Yeah…Sunday (when I took the video) she was putting 2 and 2 together that you wave AT people…now she has the “hello” wave mastered and is learning that you can wave “goodbye” too…although let’s be honest, she pretty much just waves whenever she wants to, and when people wave at her she sometimes just gives them this blank “I don’t know you” stare…it’s touch and go.

      • hahahahah Lucas is the same way with it being touch and go! He also waves though when he wants something LOL. So I am working on teaching him it’s just when we say hi and bye to PEOPLE… not to get the puffs attention 😉

Leave a Reply

