Lent

When I was pregnant I developed the mouth of a sailor. Actually, sometimes I think I could make sailors blush. It’s a combination of my tendency to be completely honest, blunt, and not easily embarrassed. It’s very un-ladylike. Some people are offended by it. It makes Brad blush.

I wish I could say that I stick to the “soft” cuss words. But that would be lying.

Here’s the deal. I honestly wouldn’t mind if I didn’t have a baby, who will one day be a toddler, who will one day repeat everything that I say. If Zoe didn’t exist, this would be a mute point. But she does exist. So I have to kick the habit. Enter Ash Wednesday.

Traditionally, it’s common to give something up for Lent. I didn’t grow up in a “traditional” Christian church. I grew up in crazy Pentecostal churches…I was taught that any type of “tradition” in church was “dead religion”. I scoffed at people who gave up something for Lent. It’s the truth. But, I didn’t cuss. Because good Christians don’t cuss. Now, I’m an adult. I go to a church that converges the streams of Christianity, I love the traditional side of my church, and I cuss. This is not a blog about what makes, or doesn’t make, a good Christian, we can talk more about that another time, if you’d like. It’s just that as I was typing and thinking about Lent and cussing I realized neither one were part of my past, but they are both part of my present.  Back to the point at hand: I go to a church that practices the tradition of giving something up for Lent. Confession: I’ve been going to this church for 4 years now and I’ve never given anything up for Lent. I’ve thought about it…but I’ve never put any action to those thoughts. Some habits die hard. So why this year? Why now?

Because it’s been a running joke since last spring.

When I would drop a particularly sailor-ish line Brad would look at me and say “HONEY! Zoe’s going to say #@^& as her first word if you don’t stop” and I would reply, “I”m giving it up for Lent”.  And we would laugh. Now that Zoe is with us all the time, when I drop a particularly hardcore cuss word Brad always says,  “I”m sure that’s with a ‘ph’ right?” and then he turns to the backseat and says, “Earmuffs Zoe”. And I laugh and say, “I know, I’m giving it up for Lent”. Brad would then reply, “Shiiiiiit”. And  we laugh.

He doesn’t think I stand a chance. I’m going to prove him wrong. Ha! After all, they say it takes 40 days to break a habit…and Lent is 40 days. Coincidence? I think not!

So…wish me luck! I’ll need it!

Confession: I definitely already slipped up. Already.

Here’s a picture of something that has nothing to do with Lent, or cussing, or sacrifice. Actually…she has everything to do with sacrifice, and she sometimes makes me cuss…but not today, and certainly not in this picture…

IMG_4610

Happy Ash Wednesday everybody! What are you giving up for Lent? Are you giving anything up at all?

3 responses to “Lent

  1. Praying for you! You can do it…

  2. Pingback: A List for Thursday « Confessions of a Reluctant Housewife

Leave a Reply

