Fun afternoon at the beach

Two random facts about my life:

1) I love adventure.
2) I married a homebody.

He knows this. I know this. So we have a system. It’s called the coupon book.
IMG_4359

And in that coupon book he added this….
IMG_4360

Today, in an effort to get out of the house and get some Vitamin D in our immune systems, I asked to go to Little Talbot Island. I also told Brad is was only 20 minutes away. I’m seldom wrong with directions or estimating arrival times….but today I was wrong. It was about 45 minutes away. And then Brad said that I had to turn in a coupon.

WHAT??????

So we turned to Facebook. The overwhelming majority agreed with me. I absolutely am not cashing in a coupon for this one. And besides….once Brad saw Zoe’s face when she saw the ocean, he would’ve driven hours to see that smile again. I know I would have. I’m warning you now…there are lots of pictures with this post! Enjoy!

Trying to figure out the sling. We’ve only used it a couple times.
Zoe is facing forward…not that you can tell.
IMG_4290

All figured out
IMG_4293

Full on belly laughing in this one
IMG_4297

Catching some air with mommy
IMG_4335

Catching too much air with mommy
IMG_4327

So happy with my little girl
IMG_4344

And then she had a meltdown. Literally. I think she was cold. I’m sure she was cold. I wasn’t prepared for the breeze at the beach. Oh, and did I mention we went at nap time? Silly mommy, schedules still have to be followed on the weekend. My poor baby showed no signs of discomfort and then WHAMO!!! Screaming at the top of her lungs all the way back to the car. Ugh! Btw, I would totally not recommend the first time you run in like, oh – I don’t know, 1 1/2 years, to be in the sand, on the beach, holding a screaming 16 lb child in your arms. My mildly asthmatic lungs are still recovering. I had two thoughts when I got back to the car 1) I totally deserve a treat for doing that. 2) holy cow chica! you need to go to the gym!!!

All in all, it was a really awesome adventure. Her belly laugh is addicting. So is her smile. And I could walk down a beach holding Brad’s hand any time.

Ps. I’m saving my coupon for Savannah, or the Florida Keys. Just a heads up Brad.

Leave a Reply

